FF: Turkey Cookies

Since it’s Frabjous Friday, a day set aside for celebrations and fun here at RWotJ, and since Thanksgiving is coming up next week, I decided to do something different. I’m sharing a recipe.

For those who know me well, you might be wondering why I’m sharing a recipe. After all, I’m a self-professed lousy cook. This is a fun and tasty exception.

Once a year, my family and I prepare our traditional Thanksgiving dessert, one that puts a smile on many people’s faces: turkey cookies. I wish I’d come up with this great idea, but that would be far beyond my culinary limitations. I did, however, write a recipe.

One of the neatest things about making these cookies is that there really is no cooking involved. I like to think of this as a craft, which sounds so much better to non-foodie me than cooking.

Turkey Cookies

Supplies:

12-14 oz. carton Whoppers

2 packages Keebler’s striped shortbread cookies (11 oz.- 32 cookies per package)

1 bag candy corn (approx 12 oz. bag–need 128 well-formed candy corns)

3 bags Reese’s miniature peanut butter cups (13 oz.)

Note: You can use York peppermint patties as bases for variety.

1 bag semi-sweet chocolate chips (12 oz.)

small bowls

plates

butter knives

2 cookie sheets

aluminum foil

Scotch tape

Preparation:

Empty Whopper bodies into one bowl and candy corn beaks into another.

Unwrap miniature Reese’s cup bases and arrange on plates upside down about 8-10 per plate so you have room for assembly.

Cut striped shortbread cookies in half, turning cookie so the stripes for the feathers will be diagonal if you like that look or vertical if you want them straight up and down. Note: A gentle sawing action with a serrated knife works best, otherwise the cookies can shatter. Sadly, the cookies have gotten thinner over the years, and you can expect a few to break.

Put about a half cup of the chocolate chips in a small bowl and heat in microwave for about one minute on low. Aim for a spreadable consistency but not too thin. There should be some lumps in the bowl. Stir the melted chocolate with a butter knife to work the lumps out. Melt more chips as needed.

Cover the cookie sheets in aluminum foil. Wrap excess over sides and tape to the bottom.

Assembly:

1) Mount body on base.

Spread a dollop of the chocolate on a malted milk ball using a butter knife. Mount the malted milk ball to one side on top of the upturned miniature Reese’s cup. As each batch is completed, set plate in the freezer a couple of minutes to help the chocolate set up.

2) Mount wings on body.

Spread chocolate in the curved opening of the cookie. Place the cookie with the flat part resting on the open portion of the top of the Reese’s cup, touching the malted milk body. Tilt backward at a slight angle. As each batch is completed, set the plate in the freezer a couple of minutes to help the chocolate set up.

3) Mount head/beak on body.

Spread chocolate on bottom back half of a candy corn—on the skinny side. Place on top of malted milk ball as far back as needed for balance. As each batch is completed, set the plate in the freezer a couple of minutes to help the chocolate set up.

Display:

After the cookies have set up, remove them from the plates and set them in rows on the cookie sheets. Place rows of eight across and six deep for a total of 48 cookies per tray. There will be 96 cookies on the trays with a few leftovers, which is helpful in the event that some cookies break during assembly—or you just have to perform a taste test. :-)

Eat and Enjoy!

Note: A blogging friend of mine, Diane Estrella, shared a cute variation on her blog. She put the turkeys on top of cupcakes and used candy orange slices as the wings.

• • •

For those in the U.S., I wish you a wonderful Thanksgiving.

I’d love to hear what you’re thankful for this year.

• • •

Here are  just a few of the many things I’m thankful for:

My wonderful husband who is incredibly supportive of me

That our college daughter is having fun this year

Having Rachelle Gardner offer me representation this past December

Attending the RWA® and ACFW conferences

Meeting many of my wonderful writer friends in person.

And for you, my loyal blogging buddies :-)


About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Frabjous Fridays and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to FF: Turkey Cookies

  1. Those cookies are super cute! That’s a fun recipe I could do with the kids! I am thankful for many things, including some of the ones you mentioned. Blogging buddies and writer friends. The ACFW conference and the amazing time I had there. My family and God, for loving me and being faithful no matter what.

  2. Julie J. says:

    So cute! What a great idea!

  3. Mary Strand says:

    hi Keli! I’m thankful you combined some of my FAVE sweets in one recipe! Woot! I’m thankful for health and sports and a fun new book I’m writing and NaNoWriMo and friends and family … and the fact that I don’t ever have to cook, including on Thanksgiving! :-)

  4. Anne Barton says:

    Those turkeys are DARLING!!! Thanks for sharing the recipe and photos.

    Let’s see . . . I’m thankful for my family, friends, books, and, this morning, coffee. Have a great weekend!

  5. Hello Keli: I am catching up with my blog reading after 48 hours of horror believing my blog was currupted. Alas, it shall live :)

    Love the cookies.

    This year I am thankful for meeting so many wonderful women in cyber-space … like you.

    I am thankful that after waiting so long, I am finally able to sit and find the “time” to write …

    for all the lessons I have learned and to those generous people who have critiqued or read me, who have helped me to grow.

    Happy Turkey to you and yours,
    Love, florence :)

  6. Diane says:

    Looks adorable. I may make these for school on Tuesday. :O)

  7. Keli!! Those are awesome! :) I’m going to have to try those with my kiddos!

    Have a fabulous Thanksgiving Cousin Dear!! ~Patty

Comments are closed.