Meet Novelist Jessica R. Patch

Jessica R. Patch writes contemporary romantic suspense. Using humor and unusual twists, she brings flawed but redeemable characters through trials and triumphs while drawing out Biblical truths.

Jessica attended Central Bible College, where she met her husband, and now resides in the Mid-south. She has devoted her time to her local church, having served as a Biblical Studies teacher, Women’s Ministry leader, Regional Women’s Representative, and volunteer co-pastor with her husband of the Young Adult Ministry. She’s written Young Adult studies labeled “Patch Packets,” and many of her articles are published in her church’s newsletter, The Current. Before she decided to write full-time, she worked as an Academy Director for an early childhood education center.

When Jessica isn’t crashing into police cruisers, getting stuck on top of her fridge, or sneaking off to the movies with her husband, she enjoys embarrassing her tween daughter by wearing pajamas to take her to school and play-sword fighting with her six-year old son.


Jesse has agreed to help me introduce my new 3×5 interview. I presented her with nine questions about her writing. She was asked to answer 3 of them with 3×5 words (15 give or take), 3 with up to 5 bullet points each, and 3 with a maximum of 5 short paragraphs. After that, I asked her three questions with three answers each. At the end, she’s asked you one question, and you’ll be able to ask any you have for her. All for fun, and fun for all. :-)

Jesse and Her Writing Journey

What led you to put fingers to keyboard and begin your first story?

I’ve had a story in my head since I was three. I acted them out in front of my mirror, used Barbies, and drew crowds of jr. high girls at lunch, where I spun stories about their lives with the boys they had crushes on. The older I became, I realized the greatest romance is with Jesus and I wanted to write stories that drew women closer to an intimate love relationship with Him.

How long have you been writing, and how many stories have you completed?

I’ve been writing since 2004. I’ve completed 13 stories.

What kinds of stories do you write?

I’ve written:
• two contemporary romances
• a contemporary romance saga with suspenseful elements
• a romantic suspense series, which I’m currently still working on  

What have been the high points of your writing journey so far?

I think every time someone reads my writing—whether a bible study, devotion from my blog, or a manuscript, and tells me how much it ministered to them it’s a high point. I also love to hear others talk about my characters as if they’re real. I know I’ve done my job. *smile*

What moment stands out as a major turning point on your journey?

Blogging. I’ve made some priceless relationships and wonderful opportunities have opened up. This one included! Thanks, Keli.

What aspects of writing do you find most challenging? Most rewarding?

The most challenging is finding balance. I tend to want to spend hours writing while my kids argue, my husband starves, and the dog whines at the backdoor. I might be slightly exaggerating—maybe not. ;) God comes first, then my husband, my kids, and writing follows that. I try to keep it in check, but some days are harder than others.

When my fingers are on the keyboard, deeply flawed characters are coming to life, and God is moving through the chapters with relentless love, I know I’m right smack-dab in the heart of His will and that sense of joy and peace is the greatest reward.

What items do you have within arm’s reach when you’re writing?

• Lately, with this new series, a huge dry erase board a.k.a. The Murder Board. I like to look up and see all my notes on each suspect and be able to erase or add to it.
• Lots of Post-its
• A pen
• Ear buds for my Pandora stations
• A cup of coffee that usually gets cold.

Where do you do most of your writing?

I have a double size chair in the den with a side-table or I sit at my writing desk by my bed. But I can write anywhere and have.

Who have been the biggest supporters on your writing journey?

• My husband. He forks out money for conferences and other things I need. It’s his part in it since he’s not a writer, or even a reader.
• My mom cheers me on.
• A close-knit group of friends whose words have been like a constant IV drip giving me meds of encouragement.
• Excellent crit partners that challenge and stretch me.

3 Fun Questions for Jesse

If you were given $1,000, taken to your nearest mall, and told you had to spend all of the money on yourself in only 3 stores, which would they be?

Books-A-Million, Yankee Candle, and Gordmans where I can get clothing and home accessories in one place.

Of all the places you’ve been, which are your 3 favorites?

Rhode Island, Thailand, Bahamas—not necessarily in that order.

What are 3 of the most amazing things you’ve ever done?

Riding an elephant through a village in Burma was pretty amazing and terrifying, especially when the rider kept smacking him/her to go faster. I kept thinking, “Please stop hitting him! You’re gonna make him mad!”

Running my first 5K, only because I haven’t ran another one. :-)

Spending my birthday at the Governor’s home in Chiang Rai, then eating dinner at the Hard Rock Café in Bangkok–minus the fish concoction they served and the stomach virus that hit me in the middle of the night. No, it wasn’t food poisoning. Well maybe it was.

Jesse’s Question for You

If you could pick a perfect place for a romantic evening, where would it be and why?

Jesse’s Drawing

Jesse has generously offered to give away a $10 Starbuck’s gift card so you can enjoy a cup of joe or tea while you’re reading a good romance. :-)

To enter the drawing, just leave a comment for Jesse by April 25th and enter your email address when prompted during the comment process. On April 26th, I will hold the drawing and post the winner’s name here as well and will contact her/him via email to get a mailing address.

Congratulations to Debra Jenkins, winner of the Starbuck’s gift card.

Note: Offer void where prohibited.
Odds of winning vary due to the number of entrants.
Prizes will be mailed to U.S. or Canadian addresses only.

Learn More About Jesse

Visit her personal blog ~ Jessica R. Patch: What Are You Doing Here?

Friend her on Facebook ~ Jessica Osborn Patch

Follow her on Twitter ~ @jessicarpatch

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Jessica R. Patch and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Meet Novelist Jessica R. Patch

  1. Jill W says:

    Great interview, ladies! I like the 3×5 format, Keli. To answer your question Jesse, for me, being with right person, it doesn’t matter where I am because with him, everything is perfect. :)

  2. Hi, Keli and Jesse! Awesome interview. The story of Jesse stuck on top of a refrigerator will never grow old for me.

    Most romantic evening, huh? My hubby and I really enjoy travelling together. One of the most romantic and fun thing we ever did was take a kayak trip by ourselves to the Blue Room in Curacao. I loved it so much that I could imagine taking a sunset kayak trip out on the ocean as long as we were close to land before dark. Open water after dark by ourselves sounds a little scary.

  3. Riding an elephant in Burma sounds sooooo much more exotic than riding an elderly elephant at my local zoo. But I can relate to the terrified feeling for sure. I did not like being up that high. :)

    Nice to hear more about you Jessica.

    • I loled reading this comment! I think the elephant I was on was pretty old too! My husband picked the tallest one (jerk) haha! He had to feed it bananas so I could run by to the platform. It was touching me! Ick! I’m also pretty certain it wasn’t as safe. A piece of wood with one rope tucked under its tail. Things we do without thinking, eh? :)

  4. Great interview, Jessica! I always enjoy getting to know you just a little bit better with every interview answer you give. I love you, girlie!

    Romantic evening: How about Paris? Why? It’s the city of love…. and it’s miles away from the kids! lol

  5. Donna Pyle says:

    Thanks, Keli, for letting us get to Jessica better! I first met her at the Writing for the Soul conference in February. I feel like I’ve known her for years! She loves the Lord, loves to write and loves her family. I’m blessed beyond measure to count this very talented young lady as a friend! Love ya, Jess!

  6. Debra Jenkins says:

    Hi Jesse sort of new to your blog but enjoying every minute of the ride. Feeling like I’ve meet a new girl friend (and I don’t think a gal can get too many of those)

    Most romantic evening easy one … Downtown Memphis NO NOT Beale St. make it a carriage ride and an overnight stay in the Peabody… a walk and a talk along the Mississippi River always delights my senses!

    • Debra, I had no idea you follow my blog! I’m so glad you are enjoying it. You’ll have to leave me a comment. I love the carriages that are lit up. It reminds me of Cinderella. As long as I don’t get mugged, it’s fabulous! :)

  7. Regina Walls says:

    Hi Jesse,
    Getting to know you in this way makes me feel I am being introduced to a treasured friend all over again. Keep it up. Maybe you will inspire the book in me to come out one of these days :).
    I am so NOT romantic. I would love to get my hubby to take me on an authentic nature hike. I think it would be a great “first” for us to discover together.

  8. Hello my fellow Critter!!! :D

  9. Mary Lange says:

    Jesse!!! Had to comment cause I love you!!! Keep writing and posting moments with Myles!!!! I enjoy your blogs so much. Oh and romantic date with hubby…..ANYWHERE we are together!!!!!!

  10. leslie Armstrong says:

    I love this interview!!!! Wow Jesse is hilarious an insanely talented …I love this girl!! God has HUGE plans for her….

    • Don’t make me cry, Lee. I’m insane for sure. Takes one to know one! Thanks for forcing me to blog and follow after my dreams. I will never forget your persistence, okay, yelling, ranting, and raving. Treasure your wisdom.

  11. charissa kerley says:

    My favorite spot for a romantic evening… hmmm. I’d say a mosquito-less area outside where you can lie on a blanket and watch the stars. :)

  12. Ruth Potter says:

    It was so cool to get some more insight into your writing journey thus far. I can’t believe I didn’t even know you were a writer until this past year. Can’t wait to read sown of your work.

  13. Sam Horton says:

    Hi Jesse, I love everything about you.. Your interview is great.. I miss all of my family at Cornerstone so much, but I am very happy here in Orlando.. I love my new church home, Faith Assembly.. and I have a new job, at Sea World…

  14. Sheri says:

    Great interview! Thanks for sharing, Jess.

    My most romantic date would be anything without the 3 kids. Don’t get me wrong, I love them to death but when they are young, it doesn’t really matter where you go. Adult conversation is nice every once in a while.

    Keep up the great work. I love being one of your critique partners!

  15. Shari Robbins says:

    I’m so proud of all God is doing in you Jesse! Your best is yet to come!!!!!

  16. LoRee Peery says:

    Interesting interview. It’s always a joy to hear how the Lord works in the lives of His people.
    A romantic evening for me would be in a grand theater at a production of “Phantom of the Opera.”

    meadowlark@loreepeery.com

    • Dynamic personality, Jessica. I am sure I’d like your writing. Great interview and great responses.

      The line about your wearing pajamas while taking your daughter to school resonated with me. My mother, always late, once took us to school in her pajamas with her hair in rollers. The car broke down and she had to walk home, only about six blocks. We always remembered that day with a smile.

      A romantic night out with my husband would be dinner at a quiet restaurant that served good food. We are easily pleased with the simple things in life. Blessings to you, Jessica and Keli.

      • Thanks so much, Carol! I laughed about your mom walking home in pj’s! My husband always asks me, “What if you get into a wreck?” My reply: “It’s not a fashion show, it’s car accident!” :) I like simple things too…and good food!

    • LoRee, that sounds like a wonderful evening! I love to get all dressed up and go to the theater. Men always seem more handsome in tuxes or suits, don’t they! Thanks for leaving me a comment.

  17. Keli Gwyn says:

    Welcome, Jesse! It’s great to have you here. And thanks for being brave and trying out my new interview format.

    Since I live in the Sierra Foothills of California, I think driving up the mountain to dine at a restaurant where we had a view of the cobalt blue waters of South Lake Tahoe would make for a romantic evening. The alpine lake with its backdrop of evergreens is a spectacular sight. Gwynly and I honeymooned up in the Tahoe area, so a visit would bring back wonderful memories, too.

    • Keli,
      Thanks so much for having me! This has been a wonderful experience and a blessing. I think the new format is great. I’ve never been to CA, but sounds beautiful. Your evening sounds pretty perfect, as well.

  18. Jillian Kent says:

    Jessica,
    I love the elephant story! I’d be freaking out too if someone was hitting the elephant I was riding. I’ve ridden a lot of horses but never an elephant! That’s special. And congratulations on writing so many stories. Fantastic work. May they all be published.

    Keli,
    The new format is neat!

  19. Heather Williams says:

    Hey Jessica! I loved reading your interview…so inspiring! I think that I will never tire of the times that I’ve spent sitting at your feet listening to you spin all of your crazy but yet inspiring stories. I have loved seeing all of the characters come to life, and how each one of them are so very real to me! I’m so very proud of you and I love you so very much! As far as a romantic place…I would have to say a beautiful night walking on the beach! I love the beach..there’s a peacefulness to the ocean.

    • To clarify, “Sitting at your feet” is a metaphor! hahaha. I love you too. Thanks for your enthusiasm, or your ear when I call and vent over what a character is or is not doing. I do not thank you for the two days you ignored me b/c I had to let someone die. Not cool. Not cool at all. :)
      I love the beach too! It is romantic and peaceful.

  20. Loved this interview, Keli and Jessica. It’s a treat to be introduced to another talented writer. I could definitely relate to the comment about blogging and the wonderful relationships that have blossomed because of it. :)

  21. Katy says:

    What a fun interview! I really enjoyed reading it! :-)

    To answer your question, Jessica, I’d say somewhere quiet. Maybe a candlelight dinner on the front porch of a log cabin overlooking the beautiful mountain range somewhere in Tennessee (we have a vaccation spot in TN and the cabin where we stay has a BEAUTIFUL view of the mountains). Not only would it be beautiful as the evening comes on, but you can watch the sun set. :-) That is my idea of a quiet, romantic getaway. :-)

    ~ Katy

  22. Great feature! Timely, too, because as I’ve blog-hopped today, I’ve seen Jessica many places.

    Best to you both. :)

  23. Melissa says:

    Hmm – romantic evening? It would have to be a cabin, in the mountains, with a roaring fire, maybe raining outside? Like that “perfect storm” (pun intended) will ever happen! Ha!

    Great work, Jesse!

  24. Rebecca Booth says:

    A perfect place for a romantic evening used tobe sitting under the stars with my hubby with a glass of wine and pleasant conversation. Sadly to say, those times are long gone since he died in 2001. Now I just read about romance and think back to those wonderful days.

  25. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks to everyone who stopped by to learn more about Jesse and her writing and to those who left a comment for her.

    I’ve held the drawing for the Starbuck’s gift card, and the winner is Debra Jenkins.

    Congratulations, Debra! I’ll be in touch.

    • Congrats, Debra! Thanks to everyone! I had a great time and have loved reading every one of your comments. Keli, thanks again for having me. It’s truly been a highlight for me.

Comments are closed.