Joy on the Journey

Writing a romance novel is a great accomplishment. If you’ve begun a manuscript, I applaud you. If you’ve completed one or more, I celebrate with you. If you’ve sent your baby out into the world, I admire you.

In February of 2006 I dusted of a long time dream, sat down at my keyboard and started my first story. Page after page poured out of me. And it was terrible. I look back on my first efforts now and laugh. I had so much to learn.

I cringe when I think of the brave souls who volunteered to read my first manuscript. They slogged through several hundred pages filled with POV errors, head-hopping, unending description, tons of telling and more. Bless them.

Writing can be a solitary endeavor. Many times I’ve wished I had a fellow romance writer to share my journey, someone who understands the genre, loves it as much I do and can help me learn the craft. My family members and friends are tremendously supportive, but they don’t write romances. Many don’t even read them. They don’t know what it’s like to have characters chattering in their head at all hours or to experience the thrill of resolving a tricky plot point.

I’ve started this blog to connect with others who share my love of the genre and long to see their names on the covers of published romance novels one day. I don’t claim to be an expert by any means, but it’s my desire to share what what I’ve learned from contest judges, books on our craft and at writers conferences I’ve attended. I’ve been given gifts by others who’ve traveled this road ahead of me, and I want to pass them on.

You can look forward to recommendations for excellent writing books, interviews with others on the path to publication and hearing the stories of those who made that long-awaited first sale.

I would like to hear about your writing journey. You can leave a comment or contact me at keligwyn@keligwyn.com.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.