Persistent Writers Get Published

Persistent, according to my online Oxford American dictionary, means “continuing firmly or obstinately in a course of action in spite of difficulty or opposition.” Another definition is “continuing to exist or endure over a prolonged period.”

We often hear how difficult it can be to get that seemingly impossible first contract, and yet new writers see their books in print every year. Despite the dire statistics, seven of the sixty-four Romance Writers of America® 2008 Golden Heart® finalists have been offered contracts this year. One finalist sold her GH manuscript, one a non-GH entry, another two shorts. Three of these amazing women were offered two-book contracts, and one has sold four of her romances.

Yes, persistence leads to publication. Richard Bach, author of Jonathan Livingston Seagull, put it so well: “A professional writer is an amateur who didn’t quit.” The truth of that statement resonates with the six finalists who sold. They kept writing and dreaming of getting The Call for years. For one it was four, another eight and one an incredible sixteen. They were persistent, and they sold.

On Thursday, June 26, author Beth Trissel, will share her twelve-year journey to publication. She’s a shining example of how persistence pays. Prepare to be entertained and encouraged.

How long have you been writing? How do you remain motivated when you encounter obstacles in your path to publication?

Every person leaving a comment will be entered in a drawing for a $5 Starbucks gift card. I’ll accept entries until 9 p.m. PDT on Tuesday, June 24, when I will post the winner’s name.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in writing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Persistent Writers Get Published

  1. Sue Mason says:

    Hi Keli,

    Great post. This has been our theme this week: perseverance. I agree that all these wonderful stories really give me the encouragement I need to keep going.

    I have not yet been published, but I know that someday when the time is right, it will happen. And that’s okay. In the meantime, I am soaking up every piece of knowledge I can for my craft and trying to improve my work. I think we have to remember that it’s fine to have an eye on our goal, but don’t lose track of the wonders along the way. The journey itself, ie. the writing and meeting all the fantastic people along the way, is really the best part. The published book is the icing on the cake, and I intend to enjoy the cake without the icing as well.

    I have been writing for eight years, but seriously (ie. joined RWA) for about 4. I have learned SO much and I know there’s still so much more for me to learn. I am enjoying the ride. But it’s really nice to have my fellow Pixie Chicks to lean on in the low times and to celebrate with in the high times.

    Keep writing everyone. There’s so many great stories to be told!

    Cheers,

    Sue

  2. Anne Barton says:

    Keli, I love the picture of the sunflower sprouting up right next to the pavement! Really nice looking blog page too.

    And Sue, I think you got it completely right. We have to enjoy each phase of the journey. (Kind of like raising kids – sometimes you can’t wait for them to get out of a certain stage and then once they’re older you realize that stage was pretty special.)

    All the best!

  3. keligwyn says:

    Thanks, Sue and Anne, for visiting and sharing your thoughts regarding persistence.

    I drew the name, and Sue is the winner of the Starbucks gift card. Congrats & happy sipping.

  4. Beth,
    I love your statement about still hanging out with the characters from your first book. Writers have the ultimate invisible friends!
    Kara

  5. TarotByArwen says:

    “There’s rules?” LMAO! That’s the funniest line of the whole darn great interview. I can just picture the look on your face. Thanks for pointing FTHRW’ers to this, Beth! Enjoyed it very much.

  6. Beth Trissel says:

    My daughters both tease me about still having invisible friends. 🙂
    And yes, regarding the ‘rules thing,’ I was utterly flummoxed.

Comments are closed.