Two Words That Can Set You Apart

Thank you. It takes very little time to say those two words, but in our hurry-up world, many of us neglect to convey our gratitude even though we have the best of intentions. When we do follow through, though, we make a favorable impression.

After each birthday and Christmas throughout my childhood, my mother made sure my sisters and I took the time to acknowledge the gifts we’d received. She sat us down and had us write our thank you notes. I didn’t always appreciate her etiquette lessons then, but I do now. Knowing how to craft a personal, sincere thank you note is a valuable skill, one I employ to this day.

While email missives are nice, people remember those who take the time to pen a few words of thanks. Suspense novelist James Grippando gave a tribute to his editor in Publishers Weekly in a June 23 article, “Untitled.” One of his comments related to her “impeccable” manners: “Thank-you notes are always handwritten—never e-mailed.” He noticed.

Author Mary DeMuth shared strategies for getting to know editors in her June 26 blog post. “If I’ve had a memorable conversation [with an editor at a conference,] meaning they’ve asked for something or seem to be interested in what I’ve pitched, I’ll write a hand-written thank you note before I follow up with a query letter or proposal.” I’m sure they notice.

In this day of cyber communication, a handwritten thank you is a gift. By taking the time to write one, we show the recipient our gratitude in a memorable way. We not only set ourselves apart, which is important in the publishing world, but we get the joy of knowing we brightened someone’s day.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in writer etiquette, writing. Bookmark the permalink.