Meet Writer Lynn Rush

Lynn Rush has been writing for about eighteen months. Her stories are what she calls supernatural-speculative Christian fiction for the twenty-something audience. She’s completed a trilogy and is currently working on three stand alone stories.

A self-professed “sports junkie,” Lynn lives in Arizona where she and her triathlete hubby take long road bike trips through spectacular desert landscapes. She’s been a competitive in-line speed skater and has run a half-marathon. This past December she participated in the 5K Iron Girl Race.

Lynn crochets baby blankets, loves chocolate and can’t stand bread crusts. Two of her best buds are the furry variety. Herky (Go, University of Iowa Hawkeyes!) and Maddux are beautiful Shelties (Shetland Sheepdogs) who keep her company when her fingers are glued to the keyboard crafting her stories.

I met Lynn when she visited my blog and left a comment. Her name was familiar because she’s also on the American Christian Fiction Writers loop. I visited her blog, Light of Truth, and saw that she’s an Edgy Inspirational writer. Curious, I read on. I was entertained as I perused her posts. She has regular ones that are quite clever: Musical Mondays, Then and Now Thursdays, and Friday Funnies.

Join me as we learn more about this go-for-it-with-gusto writer.

Lynn Rush

Lynn Rush

•Lynn, you’re a very active person. What led you to plunk yourself in front of a keyboard for hours on end and start writing that first story?

Would I be completely cliché if I said God? **LOL** Actually, I just kept having this story in the back of my mind, so when I started clicking away at the keyboard, it unfolded. Eighteen months later, I’ve penned six novels. Now only that is a God thing

•The Edgy Inspirational market is growing, although the speculative side has been a bit off the radar until recently. When did you become interested in this category? Why did you choose to embrace it? When did you decide to target the twenty-something crowd?

I never knew I was edgy, actually. I just kinda stumbled into that category as I learned more about the craft. I grew up watching the supernatural movies/TV shows. Never really read much, but when I did, I took to the Frank Peretti and Ted Dekker books like crazy.

When I started writing and learning more, I realized that my hint of romance paired with the supernatural action put me into an Edgy category. Because, yes, my characters kiss and struggle with the ever controversial sex-before-marriage issue. I don’t shy away from it. That’s why I target the late high school and college-age reader.

•How do you incorporate the faith element in your characters’ lives? What themes weave their way into your stories?

Well, in my Light of Truth series, my main character, Shelby, discovers she has supernatural powers, but when she finds out they’re from God, whom she hates, she freaks. So, I show how her angry heart thaws as she finds redemption. But even after she steps into faith, I show that Christianity is not always an easy, pain-free path to walk.

•Taking risks runs in your family. Your dad’s climbed Kilimanjaro in Kenya, Mount Blanc in France and Mount Rainier in Washington, which is quite impressive. You took a risk on your writing at an early stage of your journey, submitted your “baby” to a couple of contests, and did quite well, which is just as impressive in my book. What did you learn from the feedback given in your first contest? How did you feel when your entry, Light of Truth, finaled in MARA’s Fiction from the Heartland contest?

Yeah, my dad’s kinda nuts, huh? I do take after him a little, that’s for sure.

Oh, I equate letting someone (crit groups, contests, any third party) read my stuff with standing naked in a room with the window shades open. It’s very difficult, but I prayed, my friends prayed, and I followed.

The MARA contest was only the third contest I ever entered. I was shocked to find out I finaled. I still don’t know if I’ve placed or not, but hopefully soon. In the other contests I’ve entered, the comments have been invaluable. I can’t stress enough how beneficial I think contests are. My writing has improved dramatically because of the feedback I’ve gotten.

•I was impressed to learn that you have a Masters in Mental Health Therapy with a focus on Substance Abuse. A writer’s education and experience often come to play in her stories. Have you been able to use your special knowledge and training in the series you’re writing?

Oh yes. My experiences with addiction play a big roll in my Light of Truth series. Shelby, the main character, is a tattooed, angry, foul-mouthed eighteen-year-old who’s lost to the world of drugs and alcohol. So, I draw a lot on my interactions I’ve had in my past life as a counselor to get a lot of the mannerisms and character traits.

The first book, Light of Truth clearly shows Shelby’s use of substances and how God delivered her from it. Darkness Lies moves away from the substance use and focuses more on her relationship with Gabe. In the third book, untitled as of right now, a new character is introduced who has suffered unspeakable abuse from a family member. So, my counseling experiences have come in handy there, too.

•Sedona, Arizona is a beautiful place, one where you go to rejuvenate. You find sunrises and sunsets inspiring, and those amidst the oranges and pinks of the desert formations must be spectacular. Beginnings and endings are important to our stories as well as our days. Which part of a story comes easiest for you? The first chapter? The HEA ending? Dialogue? Or perhaps the creation of the supernatural elements?

Great question. I’m just so blessed that my dad lives in Sedona, which allows me frequent get away weekends to spark the writing light.

What part is easiest? I’d have to say the beginning. For example, in the novel I’m penning now, I woke up with one scene in my mind: a girl in a lunch line griping about the food. I had no intention of writing anything more than a quick short story or something, just to keep the juices flowing while I edited a couple other manuscripts in the making. Well, 55,000 words later . . . But it was the beginning that got me going.

Dialogue is a close second. I love creating different ways to say things. I love to read stories with a lot of dialogue, so it’s natural that my writing would take that same turn I suppose.

•We recently celebrated the most romantic holiday of the year, Valentine’s Day. You have one that stands out. Would you share why that’s so?

Oh yeah. I just posted on my blog about my favorite Valentine’s Day on a weeklong series of posts dedicated to love. It was February 14, 1996. My boyfriend stopped by on a study break (he was in grad school), strolled on into my tiny apartment, put on my favorite song, and then proposed. Yep, got down on one knee and everything. He even had his mother’s engagement diamond put in a setting just for me! 🙂 He’s such a dream. Six months later, we were married. It’s been the best thirteen years of my life!

•Since you love to spend a good deal of time in the saddle of your road bike, here’s a fun question especially for you. If a generous benefactor offered to finance a two-week trip anywhere in the world in order for you and your hubby to go riding, what place would you choose and why?

Oh my. That’s a tough one. I’ve heard riding through wine country in California is beautiful. I hear it has rolling hills and beautiful scenery. It’s funny you mention this. My dad is doing a 3,100 mile coast-to-coast bike ride starting in March . . . I actually would like to do that more than anything. But that’s a six-week adventure, but hey, if I could get two weeks paid, that’d be cool too!

It’s been great having you as my guest, Lynn. And now, in closing, is there a final comment you’d like to make or a question you’d like to ask?

Thanks for having me! It’s been great fun. You have a great blog here. 🙂

Since I’ve been deemed “Edgy,” I’d love to hear what y’all think about that. What IS edgy, anyway? What books have you read that are considered edgy?

Learn more about Lynn

Visit her blog: Light of Truth

Friend Lynn on Facebook: Lynn Rush

Follow Lynn on Twitter: LynnRush

Leave a Comment for Your Chance to Win!

I’ll choose a winner from those who leave a comment for Lynn on 2/26 and 27 (and include an email address when prompted, which I don’t share), and will post the winner’s name on 2/28.

Avily won and has her choice of:

one of two beaded necklaces

Blog prizes: necklacesor

one of two 3-1/2 inch square magnets with  motivational sayings.

Blog prizes: magnetsThe one on the left reads, “Never let the odds keep you from doing what you know in your heart you were meant to do!” by H. Jackson Brown Jr.

The one on the right reads,” If we all did the things we are capable of doing, we would literally astound ourselves” by Thomas Edison.

You could also win a First Sale Scrapbook!

If you’d like to have a chance at winning a First Sale Scrapbook created by your blog hostess, Keli Gwyn, leave a comment on any post between now and February 28. Make sure to include your name and email address when prompted if you want to be entered in the drawing. (Your information will not be shared.) Click red link above to see samples of covers and pages.

On March 1, Keli will choose one person who will have her choice of five covers on an 8×8 inch, twenty-page scrapbook in which s/he can document that long-awaited first sale. The pages will cover various milestones including The Call, signing the contract, receiving the first advance payment and holding your “firstborn” in your hands.

(No scrapbooking skills required. You just add your photos and journaling.)

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in American Christian Fiction Writers, writer interview, writing, writing contests and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Meet Writer Lynn Rush

  1. Keli Gwyn says:

    Welcome, Lynn. It’s great to have you as my guest at Romance Writers on the Journey. I’ve enjoyed the opportunity to get to know more about you and your writing.

    I must say that you’re athletic endeavors are impressive. My exercise consists of running my fingers over my keyboard. What? That doesn’t count. 🙂 I do enjoy walking, although I really ought to do more of it.

    Edgy Christian Fiction to me means those books that push the envelope by exploring topics or themes not normally seen in an inspirational work or those books that don’t follow the standard “formulas.”

    An “edgy” book that comes to my mind is Courting Trouble by Deeanne Gist. I don’t want to give a spoiler, but I will say that portions of the book shocked me, and the ending left me confused and let down.

    I had the opportunity to talk with Deeanne at the RWA Literacy Autographing in SFO. She explained that she wanted to reach beyond the regular inspirational reader to those women who need to hear the message that God’s love is there for anyone, even those who’ve made serious mistakes.

  2. Sherrinda says:

    Wow, great interview! Lynn, you are one busy girl. How in the world did you find time to write 6 novels in 18 months, be so active, and work too?(I read on Twitter you were going to work) Crazy busy!

  3. Kat says:

    Yay, Lynn!

    Anyone who has had the pleasure of meeting Lynn either in person and online knows what an incredibly wonderful person she is.

    I can’t wait to see more from her in the future.

  4. Lynn Rush says:

    Keli–Thanks for having me here. It’s been a blast!

    Sherrinda— Yeah, I can’t explain it either. It’s a God thing, that’s for sure.

    Kat–You’re too sweet. And I would say the same to you, my friend. I’ve read your work, it won’t be long until you’re snatched up and your book is on the shelves.

  5. Avily says:

    GREAT INTERVIEW!
    Thanks for interviewing my best good friend, Keli!
    What Lynn failed to mention in her interview is how much of a help and a blessing she is to her fledgling writer friends, passing on tips about craft and encouraging us to press on.

    I can’t wait to see your books in print, Lynn! Love ya, man!

  6. Lynn Rush says:

    Avily–Oh wow, you’re so thoughtful! It’s such a pleasure going through the writing process with you!!

  7. Most of the christian books I’ve read that are labeled edgy aren’t really edgy to me, but normal. But I guess they’re probably edgy to older Christians.
    Great interview, Lynn! I see you around the blogsphere all the time. Congrats on your final! That is SO exciting.
    Plus, it’s really cool how you write speculative fiction. I think that there’s going to be a big want for it when some of these teens get older and start buying Christian books. (hopefully, lol) Sounds like you’re smart to target twenty-somethings.
    I hope you’ll post on your blog what you place when you find out! 🙂

  8. Keli, I just saw your comment about Courting Trouble. I was let down too but heard there’s a sequel, so you might want to check it out. The heroine hopefully gets her HEA! 🙂

  9. Lynn Rush says:

    HI Jessica. Thanks for stoppin’ by. Yeah, I’m with you. Although I’m in my mid-thirties, I don’t view much of what’s considered Edgy as Edgy.

    Take Michelle Sutton for instance. She’s considered Edgy in her book “It’s Not About Me.” But I didn’t consider her book Edgy.

    BUT, hey, what do I know, right? LOL. I loved her book and thought it was right on target.

    You bet, when I find out if I placed or didn’t place in that contest, I’ll put it on my blog, you’ll have to stop on by:-)

  10. Huh. My comments aren’t going through. Keli, I just wanted to say that I was let down with Courting Trouble too, but there’s a sequel in which I’m hoping the heroine gets her HEA.

  11. Keli Gwyn says:

    Jessica, I have the sequel on my TBR pile–er, mountain. Deeanne said her publisher insisted on it when she pitched Courting Trouble. Looks good from what I’ve read in the blurbs.

  12. Anne Barton says:

    Hi Lynn — It’s great to have the chance to learn about you and your writing. I esp. liked the story of how your husband proposed on Valentine’s Day. 🙂

    Your question’s interesting. “Edgy” to me would mean something different than it does to an inspirational writer, I think. It could refer to the level of heat, the role of spirituality in the story, or pushing the envelope in some other way (like social norms?)

    In a general sense though, edgy works for me. I like plot twists that make me question what I thought I knew.

    Great interview, Keli!

  13. Lynn Rush says:

    Anne—Thanks for stopping by, Anne. Yeah, aren’t I lucky to have such a sweetheart for a hubby? **smile** Yes, I’m a fan of more edgy writing as well, but you’re right, it could be more social norms, too!

  14. Keli, I’m glad the publisher insisted on it because the heroine is such a passionate, likable character that I really wanted her to get a rousing romance! 🙂

    Hey Lynn, I’ve heard of Sutton’s book. I probably wouldn’t consider it edgy either. 🙂 But interesting and relevant, yes.

  15. Lynn Rush says:

    Hey Jessica. Yeah, Sutton’s book was FABULOUS….totally not edgy to me. 🙂 Have a great weekend!!

  16. Keli Gwyn says:

    Lynn, it’s been great having you as my guest.

    Thanks to everyone who stopped by. I held the drawing, and Avily is the winner. Congrats, Avily. I’ll be in touch.

  17. Avily says:

    Thanks for the contest, Keli!!!!

    I’m so excited to have won! Woo-hoo! 🙂

Comments are closed.