Making Connections on MySpace

Beth Trissel writes “romance charged with danger from ages past.” She’s sold four books to The Wild Rose Press, three of which released just this month, including her 2008 Golden Heart® finaling entry, Through the Fire.

I met Beth when I joined the 2008 GH Yahoo! group. She was my first guest with her interview appearing June 26 of last year. Since that time she’s been busy promoting her debut novel, Somewhere My Love, which won the Preditors and Editors poll for best romance in 2008.

One of the tools Beth uses to promote her books is MySpace. Join her as she shares her positive experience with this social networking site.

.

Beth Trissel.

Making Connections on MySpace

by Beth Trissel
.

As a historical/light paranormal romance author published primarily in the digital media, I strive to find effective ways to reach my target audience, women of all ages who read romance. In my quest, I happened upon a venue right under my nose, making far better use of MySpace. Not simply hoping these women would find me, but going in search of readers and “friending” them. Literally. I’ve made some wonderful new friends. I’m also building a readership.

I have an “If you build it they will come” mentality based on that famous quote from the movie Field of Dreams. It seems apt for an author reaching for the stars.

In order to find these vast readers from all walks of life around the globe, first create an appealing MySpace page, and then think what MySpace sites are likely to be frequented by readers. Successful authors who write in a similar genre as yours are a good place to start. Take a look at their friends and those of such sites as The Romantic Times, Coffee Time, and various book clubs/groups, again, particularly those that specialize in your genre. Even general ones are worth perusing. And don’t overlook librarians, booksellers, reviewers and others in the reading world who might be interested in your work.

It isn’t enough simply to invite people to be your friend. Interact. Look at their profiles and see what you can identify with. Send a short greeting along with your friend invite saying something about yourself. If an individual accepts, follow up with a note commenting in a positive, at times even sympathetic way, on whatever strikes you in their profile; include a few lines about what you write, where your books are available, and your website.

I’ve been deeply touched by some of these women and the courageous lives they lead. Initially, I reached out to readers, but it is their reaching back that has touched me. Women want to feel a connection with each other. Authors and readers are no different. Yes, this is time consuming and not for the very shy. But if you’re a friendly person, then making valuable connections on MySpace may be an excellent way for you to build your readership. The possibilities are limitless and growing all the time. And you may make some lifelong friends.


• • •

Do you use social networking sites? Which is your favorite and why?

Do you have any questions for Beth about why MySpace is her favorite or how it works?

• • •

.
Beth had three books release this month with The Wild Rose Press:

Daughter of the Wind ~

Historical/light paranormal romance with strong Native American elements.

Enemy of the King ~

Fast-paced historical romance with light paranormal element. My version of The Patriot.

Through the Fire ~

Fast-paced historical romance with a The Last of the Mohicans flavor and a mystical weave

.

daughterofthewind_w2893_300(3) Enemy of the KingThrough the Fire

.

Learn More About Beth

Visit her Web site: www.bethtrissel.com
Visit her blog:
bethtrissel.blogspot.com
Visit her at The Wild Rose Press Forum
Friend her at MySpace: bctrissel

.

Leave a Comment for Three Chances to Win

.

Beth’s Drawing

At the end of the day May 25, Beth will choose a winner from those who’ve left her a comment. One person will win a copy of Through the Fire. If you live in the US, she’ll send you an autographed copy. If you reside outside the US, she’ll give you a digital download.

To enter the drawings, just enter your email address when prompted. I’ll contact you and will then relay the necessary information to Beth.

.

Keli’s Drawing

My next drawing will take place May 31st. The winner will receive a cute tote bag just the right size for an outing or errand run.

.

Tote Bag

.

To enter the drawing, just leave a comment on any blog post by May 31st and enter your email address when prompted. (I don’t share your information or add it to any mailing lists.) On June 1st, I’ll post the winner’s name in the Welcome post at the top of the blog.

.
.

You could also win a First Sale Scrapbook!

If you’d like to have a chance at winning a First Sale Scrapbook created by me, your blog hostess Keli Gwyn, just leave a comment on any post between now and May 31. Be sure to include your name and email address when prompted if you want to be entered in the drawing. (Your information will not be shared.) Click red link above to see samples of covers and pages.

On June 1, I will choose one person who will have her/his choice of several covers on an 8×8 inch, twenty-page scrapbook in which s/he can document that long-awaited first sale. The pages will cover various milestones including The Call, signing the contract, receiving the first advance payment and holding your “firstborn” in your hands.

(No scrapbooking skills required. You just add your photos and journaling.)

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Golden Heart, MySpace, promotion, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Making Connections on MySpace

  1. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks for the helpful article, Beth.

    I haven’t mastered MySpace, but I do enjoy connecting with others on Facebook and Twitter.

  2. Sherrinda says:

    That was a great post! I have not ventured into MySpace at all, but I do Facebook and Twitter and I had a Yuwie account at one point, but don’t ever get on that one. It is all very time consuming. What I like about FB and Twitter is I can feed my blog into both, which saves time. I am sure you can do that with other sites though too. Thanks for the info!

  3. Beth Trissel says:

    Hi. Thanks. I’m on Facebook and Twitter too. Both are valuable sites but I haven’t made any good new friends or acquired new readers over there, just myspace friends who also found me on elsewhere.

  4. Beth C. says:

    Hey Beth. 🙂

    I have Facebook and Myspace but I interact more on Facebook. I try to limit my time because I could spend all day doing messages and stuff and never write. I haven’t picked up Twitter. I’ve been delaying on that one.

    Beth C.

  5. Beth Trissel says:

    My first release, Somewhere My Love, won the 2008 Preditors & Editors Readers Poll For Best Romance Novel because of my myspace friends. 🙂

  6. Margay says:

    Beth, I am on all three of those sites, too, and I wonder, why do you think it’s easier to build a following on Myspace than the others? I am not even certain the Myspace one is working for me.
    Margay

  7. B.G. Sanford says:

    Keli and Beth, I enjoyed your post and information.
    Good reading my friends,
    B.G.Sanford

  8. Beth Trissel says:

    Why do I prefer myspace…well, I love to send out quotes combined with my mom’s wonderful photographs, or messages combined with just the right pics, and I love my profile. I can create a whole little world over there. So myspace suits me best.

  9. Quilt Lady says:

    Hi Beth, I may be to late posting, we have been taring out our kitchen floor all day due to a water leak and this is one huge mess.

    I really don’t mess around to much with myspace or any other thing like that. I do visit alot of blogs and there are a lot of great people to meet on the blogs. Your book sound like a great read and thanks for sharing it with us today.

  10. I’ve found that most of my My Space friends are authors which is great, but I need to work on finding readers as well. I haven’t done facebook.

  11. Beth Trissel says:

    My biggest fans are myspace readers.

  12. Hywela Lyn says:

    Hi Beth

    I do agree with you abut My Space being a ‘whole little world’. I love playing with graphics, and My Space has great options for customisation. I started my first My Space when I received my first contract for my debut novel Starquest, released last year. I was a bit overwhelmed to start with, but once I’d learnt a few basic (very basic) principles of html I got really carried away and now have three My Spaces, one for me and one for two of my characters as well. I’ve made lots of on-line friends on My Space. Whether this has resulted in new readers I’m not sure, but it’s certainly a wonderful way to get your name ‘out there’ and amounts to free advertising. I think it’s important to link your My Space, Blog, Website and any other Social Networks, as all your sites will invariable have slightly different content, and some sites appeal to readers more than others..

    I also ‘twitter’ but only when I have something I feel is important to share, like a new relase, interview, review or guestbog, and I’m on Facebook as well, athough I’ve only just started doing anything much with it, I still find My Space the most enjoyable and useful of all the social networks. yes, it can be time consuming, but I try to limit most of my updaes and messages to the weekends so as not to let it take over my life! LOL

  13. Beth Trissel says:

    Oh and thanks much Quilt Lady. 🙂
    You are my winner, if you could please provide us with your name and address I will mail you a signed copy of Through the Fire, unless you are outside the US in which case I will send you a digital download.

  14. Jessica says:

    Great post Beth and Keli!
    Beth, that’s really smart of you. Thanks for giving us these tips. If I get pubbed I plan to try to do this kind of stuff too, friending readers, etc.
    Congrats on your sales!

  15. Congratulations on your releases, Beth. That’s fabulous.

    I’m still struggling with the whole networking writing balancing thing. I need to be more efficient I know.

  16. Beth Trissel says:

    We can all be more efficient. 🙂
    And thanks.

  17. Linda Banche says:

    I have myspace, facebook, twitter and various other social networking groups, too. Whether they work or not is the question. myspace is nice because you can send a bulletin to all your “friends”. I haven’t figured out how to do that with facebook. As for linking them all–how? I would love to do this stuff once.

  18. Wow, Beth, you must be thrilled! Three books in one month! Congrats!

    I prefer MySpace myself. Can’t seem to get the hang of Facebook.

  19. Beth Trissel says:

    Thanks everyone. I don’t know how to link all these sites either, but mention what I put where as best I can.

  20. Sherrinda says:

    Hi Keli, jump over to my blog…I mentioned you there today!!!

  21. Beth Trissel says:

    Keli, tell Quilt Lady I need her email for contact info as she’s my winner!

  22. Jill Kemerer says:

    Well, imagine my surprise when I check out your blog (glad I did!) and see Beth Trissel! I had the pleasure of meeting Beth when I was a member of Virginia Romance Writers a few years ago. Congrats on all her success–well deserved!

  23. Hi Beth! Hi Keli!
    Beth, you’re so awesome at self-promoting. I’m not on MySpace yet, but plan to be. Soon. Someday. I am on Facebook, but so far don’t know that it’s “helping” me. Of course, neither of my stories has released yet, so what do I know? I try to post on “friends'” walls often, so that it’s not all about me. It’s about them. Then, hopefully, once my books are out, they’ll remember me. 🙂

    I don’t Twitter yet, and just the thought of it confuses me. I’ll ask my teenage daughter. Teenagers know everything cyberspace, don’t they?

    Congrats on your success, Beth. You certainly deserve it.

    :)Becky

  24. Beth Trissel says:

    Hi Jill! Waving madly. Thanks.
    Hey Becky! Come on over to myspace. Yes, get your teenager to help you. My daughters and 11 yr old niece got me set up.

  25. People are so generous with information! Thank you! Tucked away at home researching and writing that is what I know but all this ‘technology’ I’m a bit behind with.

    Through this site I’ve gained greater understanding. Thank You!

    I would like to invite all of you to also check out my web page http://www.theresachevalier.com and read about my debut novel. It’s a historical drama/romance. Very real and engaging from the feedback I’ve received.

    Now I’m gonna try and find you on My Space!

Comments are closed.