Romance Writers on the Journey is One Year Old!

party blowersI try to keep my focus at Romance Writers on the Journey on YOU, my awesome guests and visitors.

However, my blog reached two milestones this week. In honor of its first birthday and passing the 20,000 page views mark, I’m throwing a cyber celebration.

A Party!

You’re invited. So, grab a party blower and join in the fun.

Prizes!

As usual, there are prizes for those who stop by and leave a comment. I have some special ones just for this post. One item I’m giving away is a beautiful “Believe” necklace from Premier Designs. Check it out in the Drawing section at the end of the post.

A Big Week!

On May 26, 2008 my blog went live with my first post, Joy on the Journey. The site debuted with a different URL using my name as opposed to the blog’s name. On August 16, 2008, this location became its home. Yesterday, between the two sites, Romance Writers on the Journey welcomed its 20,000th visitor. A big week indeed.

Here’s a quick recap of some blog stats:

This is the 95th post.

You wonderful guests and visitors have left 2,700 comments.

I’ve interviewed 37 debut authors.

I’ve interviewed 26 writers on the path to publication.

Three of my writer guests subsequently sold (each just three weeks after her interview here at RWotJ), and I spotlighted their BIG news in my Saturday Special: She Sold! stories.

I’ve run 26 articles.

Of those articles, 10 were written by knowledgeable guest bloggers.

The most viewed post is Shelley Adina’s article, Writing a Pitch-Perfect Query Letter. It’s awesome and continues to draw visitors every week.

The busiest day on the blog was July 21, 2008, when 2007 Golden Heart® inspirational winner, Carla Capshaw, was my guest.

.

Back in February 2009, I ran a post, Blog Awards, in which I noted the two RWotJ had received. More recently it has received two more. Because I’m grateful to the generous bloggers who bestowed these honors and want to recognize them, I’ll mention the awards.


lemonadeawardLynn Raye Harris gave RWotJ the Lemonade Stand award, which is for sites that show great attitude and/or gratitude!

.

.

.

One Lovely Blog AwardLynnette Labelle of Chatterbox Chit Chat and Sherrinda Ketchersid of A Writer Wannabe both gave RWotJ the One Lovely Blog Award, which is self-explantory.

.

.

.

By accepting these awards, I’m also agreeing to pass on the awards. The number of specified recipients seems to vary from 5-15, so I’ll go with 7 since  it’s one of my favorite numbers  . . .

I pass on the Lemonade Stand Award and the One Lovely Blog Award to the following  7 sites (in no particular order) because all of you ladies have lovely blogs that show great attitude and gratitude.

A Christian Romance Writer’s Journey: Eileen Astels

On the Path: Jody Hedlund

Sarah Tormey’s Blog

Dreaming on the Job: Emily Becher

Sarah Sundin’s Blog

BookingIt: Jessica Nelson

The Writing Road: Beth K. Vogt, Scoti Domeij and Roxanne Sherwood

Cupcakes

.

And now, let’s continue with the celebration.

Grab a calorie-free cyber cupcake and check out the party favors (aka drawing prizes.) To have a chance at winning one of them, just leave a comment.

I’d love to hear what you’d like to see in the way of articles here at RWotJ. Please share your suggestions in your comment. This site is for YOU. I value your input.

I’d also love to have you tell us what’s been the high point of the past twelve months for you. Finaled in a contest? Sold a book? Had a baby? Sent a “baby” off to college? Welcomed a grandbaby to your family?

.

Celebration Drawing Prizes

.

To enter the drawing for one of the following six prizes, just leave a comment and include your email address when prompted. (I don’t share it, and I don’t add it to any mailing lists.)

At the end of the day June 6, I’ll chose the six winners. I’ll contact the winners and post there names here on June 7. Prizes will awarded at random.

One Necklace

.

Blog prize necklace

.

I purchased this from Premier Designs. The front reads “Believe.” The reverse side reads “Like there’s endless possiblities.” I got one of these for myself, too, and wear it all the time. It’s a nice piece of jewelry.

.

Two Gift Cards

.

Blog prize gift cards

.

There is one $5 gift card for Borders and one for my favorite fast food hangout, Taco Bell.

.

Three Inspirationals Novels

.

Blog Prize Books

.

The books are: Longings of the Heart by Bonnie Leon, Love Finds You in Miracle, Kentucky by Andrea Boeshaar and The Edge of Light by Anne Shorey.

These are my once-read copies. I’m a careful reader and don’t even break the spines. 🙂 You can read my reviews of these titles on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Borders and Christian Book.

And the winners are . . .

Beth Vogt won the Believe necklace.

Julie Robinson won the Taco Bell gift certificate.

Gail won the Borders gift card.

Pat Jeanne Davis won the copy of Longings of the Heart by Bonnie Leon.

Jessica won the copy of Love Finds You in Miracle, Kentucky by Andrea Boeshaar.

Edna Tollison won the copy of The Edge of Light by Ann Shorey.

.

Note: Your comment also enters you in my regular drawings for a tote bag and a First Sale Scrapbook. You can see photos and descriptions at the end of the previous post.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in blog stats. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Romance Writers on the Journey is One Year Old!

  1. Keli Gwyn says:

    Sue,

    What nice things to say! I’m honored.

    I thoroughly enjoy getting to know such wonderful writers through my blog. My work behind the scenes is a labor of love. And if my guests are happy, then I’m happy, because that’s my goal.

    It was great to have you here. I’m eager for your return visit. I’ve been privileged to judge your work in a contest and know how well you write. I await news of your first sale anytime now.

  2. Keli Gwyn says:

    Quilt Lady,

    It’s great to see you here. Glad you could join the celebration. And feel free to help yourself to another cupcake. I’ve put out some more, including Devils Food. Yum!

    You must be mighty proud of your college son. A 4.0 is quite an accomplishment at any point, but in college even more so. Congrats!

  3. Keli Gwyn says:

    Beth,

    The Writing Road is a very impressive site, another I subscribe to. You offer consistently great posts. Kudos to you, Roxanne and Scoti on running such a great blog.

  4. Anne Barton says:

    Happy blog b-day, Keli! What makes RWotJ special is the thought you put into every interview question. You give your guests and your visitors the royal treatment week after week.

    I can’t wait to see what the next year brings for this blog AND for you! I’m toasting you with a margarita. Truly. 🙂

  5. Keli Gwyn says:

    Sarah,

    I’m glad you enjoyed your time here. It was great to have you. And I was delighted to have the opportunity to meet your in person at the Mount Hermon Christian Writers Conference in April. You’re every bit as nice as I expected you to be.

    Thanks for the kind words about my blog. They mean a lot to me.

  6. Keli Gwyn says:

    Eileen,

    Thanks for saying such nice things about my blog. I attribute the success it’s had to my wonderful guests–like YOU! I’m glad you enjoy reading the interviews. I sure do!

    I look forward to another great year. I’ve already got some super guests lined up. What a blessing it is to get to know so many awesome writers and debut authors. I’m indeed blessed.

  7. Keli Gwyn says:

    Jessica,

    This year has passed so quickly. I’ve learned oodles and bunches. I’m glad you find the interviews helpful. Like you, I gain a great deal from each of my guests. Even though we’re all writing romances, each journey is unique, just as each story and writer is.

    Congrats on those requests and for getting the manuscripts off. Even though they didn’t result in a contract this time around, I feel certain it’s only a matter of time.

    I’m eager to have you back on the blog as a debut author, so keep on writing and submitting. And let me know when you sell, so I can squee with you.

    And those Devils Food cupcakes I just added to the dessert table are heaped with scrumptious chocolate frosting.

  8. Keli Gwyn says:

    Pat,

    I’m glad you enjoy your visits. I enjoy having you. And I’m glad you won one of the drawings. I wish I had goodies enough for everyone who visits. But you get to visit with my great guests, and that’s really the best part.

    Thanks for being part of the celebration.

  9. Keli Gwyn says:

    Kwana,

    Having you as my guest was such a blast. I loved reading the comments from your many fans. It’s clear you’re one awesome woman who’s full of creativity.

    Thanks for the well wishes. And be sure to let me know when you, my New York friend, sell a book and are NYT bound so I can have you back as a returnee guest. Won’t that be tonz of fun?!

  10. Keli Gwyn says:

    Gwynlyn,

    Thanks for joining the party. Great to have you here. Hope you got a cupcake. If not, I’ve added more. And check out the handsome young waiter I got to man the dessert table. He’s to drool for.

    I appreciate your encouraging words and well wishes. Nice to have you on my side. I stand reading to cheer for you, too, so be sure to keep me posted on your good news.

  11. Keli Gwyn says:

    Gail,

    Thanks for stopping by and sharing in the fun.

  12. Keli Gwyn says:

    Anne,

    No party would be complete with you, my awesome critique partner and most loyal blog visitor. You’re a gem, and I hope you know it.

    I look forward to the next year. I’m oh so ready to have you back when you sell and again when your debut novel hits the shelves. That will be quite the celebration.

  13. Margay says:

    Keli, it is all true, so don’t blush – gush. You have every right to!
    Margay

  14. Edna Tollison says:

    congrations on your blog and all the good interviews that you have held.
    Please enter me into the drawing and I would like anything but would love the 3 books, I am 66 and semi-diabled, which means I don’t get out much so I read or play on the computer. May God bless you and anyone that wins.

    mamat2730(at)charter(dot)net

  15. Keli Gwyn says:

    Edna,

    How lovely to have you stop by. I’m with you. Reading romances is such fun. And how would we live without our computers? 🙂

  16. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks again to all who stopped by to celebrate my blog’s birthday. YOU, my awesome guests and visitors, are what make Romance Writers on the Journey what it is, and I’m grateful to each of you.

    I’ve picked the drawing winners, and here they are:

    Beth Vogt won the Believe necklace.

    Julie Robinson won the Taco Bell gift certificate.

    Gail won the Borders gift card.

    Pat Jeanne Davis won the copy of LONGINGS OF THE HEART by Bonnie Leon.

    Jessica won the copy of LOVE FINDS YOU IN MIRACLE, KENTUCKY by Andrea Boeshaar.

    Edna Tollison won the copy of THE EDGE OF LIGHT by Ann Shorey.

    Congrats, ladies!! I’ll be in touch.

Comments are closed.