Saturday Special: Lynn Rush Sold!

Lynn Rush writes paranormal romance for the twenty-something audience, which she’s been doing for about two and a half years, and has completed thirteen novels. She recently received a contract for her first book, Violet Midnight, which will be published by Hearts on Fire Books.

A self-professed “sports junkie,” Lynn lives in Arizona where she and her triathlete hubby take long road bike trips through spectacular desert landscapes. She’s been a competitive in-line speed skater, has run a half-marathon, and participated in the 5K Iron Girl Race in Dec. 2008.

Lynn, who has a degree and a graduate degree in the mental health field, crochets baby blankets, loves chocolate, and can’t stand bread crusts. Two of her best buds are the furry variety. Herky (Go, University of Iowa Hawkeyes!) and Maddux are beautiful Shelties (Shetland Sheepdogs), who keep her company when her fingers are glued to the keyboard crafting her stories.

Join me as we learn about Lynn and her First Sale.



•Wow, Lynn? When you were here as my guest on February 26th last year, did you expect to be back so soon as a debut author with a contract? You must be beyond thrilled. Please share with us what happened since your previous visit, how your First Sale came about, how you reacted to the BIG news, and what’s coming up for you next.

I’m glad to be back, Keli. I looked back at the original post and thought, Oh, I really used that as my profile picture? LOL.

I NEVER in a million years thought I’d be back on your blog celebrating such good news.

The whole scenario was pretty amazing to tell you the truth. I’d entered Violet Midnight (read summary here)  in the Write Your Name Across The Sky contest way back in November, 2009.

I try to enter 1-2 contests per month, so after I press send, I tend to “forget” about them. Now, by forget, I mean, I put a reminder on my calendar to pop up near the “announce the finalists” dates, but then move on to other projects to pass the time.

This particular contest was for publication. I was so SURE I’d never get a call stating I made it to the next round, I’d actually forgotten about the contest.

But I did make it to the next round, and then the next, and I’d even made it to the finals.

Finally, on January 10th, 2010 I got the email that changed my entire life.

I’d placed FIRST in the contest. First prize was a publishing contract from Hearts on Fire and a year of FREE promotion from The Book Boost.

Needless to say, I fell to my knees with my sweet hubby and thanked God. I was just so surprised. I never dreamed anything like this could happen since I was so new to the writing industry.

But it did. And on Monday the 11th, I had a contract in my email inbox.

I had my character, Emma, from Violet Midnight come on my blog and tell the story. It was a bunch of fun!

Anyway. So, yikes—I had a contract but NO agent. NO attorney. NO—well, you get the drift.

But God stepped in. Four days later. . . I got “The Call” and was picked up by an agent: Cari Foulk at Tribe Literary Agency.

This writing business is a crazy-fun ride, but God’s drivin’ the car, so I’ll go wherever He steers.


•Lynn, it’s been wonderful to have you back at Romance Writers on the Journey to share your wonderful news with us. And now, I invite your guests to ask you any questions they have about your sale, your debut novel and what life is like after receiving that long-awaited contract offer.

Thanks for having me back, Keli.

Hopefully my story helps you all in your writing journey in some small way.


Learn More About Lynn

Visit her personal blog ~ Light of Truth
Friend her on Facebook ~ LynnRushWrites
Follow her on Twitter ~ LynnRush

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in author interview, first sale story, writing, writing contests and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Saturday Special: Lynn Rush Sold!

  1. Keli Gwyn says:

    Congratulations again on your First Sale, Lynn, as well as getting an agent and a request on another story. So many great things are happening for you, and I’m delighted.

  2. Lynn Rush says:

    Thanks, Keli. It’s an exciting ride, that’s for sure.

  3. Hi Keli and Lynn!

    Lynn, Congratulations on getting that first contract by winning. I remember the contest, though I did not enter it. You’re an inspiration for me to try. Based on what happened to you, I’m wondering if it is the norm for an un-agented first-time-to-be-published author to have an agent call. Are they watching publishing houses looking for names?

    I like your philosophy—Let go; let God.

  4. Lynn Rush says:

    I really try and live by the let go; let God thing in everything I do.

    I’ve heard that un-agented writers get noticed by editors/agents in contests. I’d actually queried Cari with a different manuscript (Heaven’s Fire) prior to finding out I won the contest, though. The timing just worked out perfectly.

    Write on, my friend.

  5. Quilt Lady says:

    Congrats Lynn on you first contract, I wish you all the luck in the coming years!

  6. Jessica says:

    Congrats Lynn! I hadn’t gotten around to your blog so I’m glad I caught the story here. What a great, exciting thing! And with the agent too…just awesome. 🙂 Thanks for sharing the story!

  7. Lynn Rush says:

    HI, Quilt Lady and Jessica. Thanks for swinging by here today and sharing in my excitement!

  8. Tina says:

    Totally thrilled for you!!! Lovely news for a lovely person.

  9. sherrinda says:

    OOooo, I love SOLD stories! Congratulations, Lynn! That is AWESOME! (Thanks for sharing more good news, Keli!)

  10. Lynn Rush says:

    Tina–Thanks. You’re too sweet!

    Sherrinda–Woo-hoo. Still doing the happy dance for sure. 🙂

Comments are closed.