Love is . . . Contest Winners

Twenty-five brave souls entered my first-ever writing contest.

They had to say what Love is . . . in 14 words or less.

I thoroughly enjoyed reading the clever entries.

.

I had the tough task of choosing the 14 finalists.

I sent the names to my judges, who had an even more difficult challenge.

They, too, were impressed with the creativity exhibited.

.

The judges have returned their scores.

I’ve crunched the numbers.

And the winners are . . .

.

1st Place ~ Margay, who won a $25 Barnes & Noble gift card

“Love is the ability to see that sometimes the frog is the prince and he’s yours.”

.

2nd Place ~ Jacob, who won a $20 See’s Candies gift card

“Love is as infuriating and facinating as being married to Lucy Ricardo.”

.

3rd Place ~ Melinda Lancaster, who won $15 in Taco Bell gift certificates

“Love is surrendering to the realization that the heart held within your hands isn’t your own.”

.

(Note: The entries are shown exactly as they were submitted and sent to the judges.

The original post with the entries in the comments section can be viewed here.)

.

Congratulations to the winners!

.

Thank you to my esteemed judges:

Anne Barton, Candace Calvert, and Walt Mussell.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Love is . . . Contest Winners

  1. A. Grey says:

    Congratulations to the winners!!! This was a super fun contest! Thank you Keli for holding it! And thank you to Anne, Candace, and Walt for judging the final 14! All the entries were wonderful and it brightened my day each time I visited to read them!

  2. Margay says:

    Thank you so much for picking my entry! I am truly honored. Congratulations to everyone who entered and finaled – it was a fun contest!
    Margay

  3. Margay says:

    I also want to thank everyone who judged the contest – Anne, Candace and Walt. I appreciate how difficult your task was and that is why I decided to do a separate comment just for you. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedules to judge.
    Margay

  4. sherrinda says:

    Yay to the winners! All the entries were sooo good! I must confess, that my favorite was Margay’s too!!!! It was an awesome line! 🙂

  5. Sue Mason says:

    Congratulations to the winners! A fun contest for sure.

  6. Carla Gade says:

    Congrats to all the winners! Great job everyone!

  7. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks to everyone who entered the contest. I had such fun and hope you did too.

  8. jacob says:

    Thanks to all – that was fun and for those who know my wife you know that I married Lucy Riccardo!

Comments are closed.