Meet Novelist Christi Corbett

From a young age, writing was an integral part of Christi Corbett’s life. She further developed this skill during her career as a television writer. Now, Christi continues to broaden her writing horizons with the completion of her first novel, Along the Way Home, a historical romance that takes place on the Oregon Trail.

After graduating from Western Washington University with a degree in Communications, Christi took a job with a CBS affiliate in the Creative Services Department. During her time with the TV station, she received multiple American Advertising Awards (ADDY) and was recognized by the March of Dimes with an award for providing “Outstanding Communications Support.”

Christi lives in a small town in Oregon with her husband, young twin children, and their recent addition, a Border Collie puppy. The location of their home holds a special place in Christi’s writing life; it stands just 600 feet from the original Applegate Trail, and the view from her back door is a hill travelers looked upon years ago as they explored the Oregon Territory and beyond.

Christi’s husband has learned not to be surprised when he returns home and finds yet another large-scale project beginning around the house. From building and staining a bookshelf to painting an entire room in only an afternoon, their home undergoes frequent changes. When Christi’s not remodeling or writing, she enjoys hiking, camping, and fishing.

Join me as we learn more about Christi and her writing journey.

.

.

To start off today, we’ve got some delicious buttermilk biscuits fresh from the oven along with butter, honey, and a nice assortment of jams to slather on them. Christi prepared this cyber fare, and you’ll soon learn why I asked her to do the cooking. There’s also an assortment of coffees, teas, and hot chocolate. Help yourself.

.

Christi’s Journey Begins

.

•You’ve enjoyed writing since you were young. What were some of your earliest experiences?

From a young age I always enjoyed writing, both for school assignments and for pleasure. I also used journals as a way to work my thoughts out, note ideas and observations about life in general, and have fun with words.

In every grade, English and Literature were my favorite subjects. In high school, I was fortunate to be a member of the school paper, an experience that taught me a lot about the world of journalism.

It should also be said that my love of writing went hand in hand with a lifelong passion for reading. I wouldn’t be a writer today without the influence of the fantastic authors I read in my youth like Laura Ingalls Wilder and Judy Blume.

.

•Although you have yet to receive a contract for your novels, you’re a published author, having written pieces many of us would never dream of. Please tell us about this experience.

Working in the Creative Services Department of a television station provides a wide range of opportunities.

In addition to writing and producing over three hundred television commercials, I earned the position as head writer and producer for a local, weekly television show. Furthermore, I was responsible for writing countless press releases detailing the station’s various special events, community programs, and news department awards.

I can easily say my days were never boring and I rarely looked at the clock!

.

•When did you begin writing your first novel, and where did you get the idea?

On a very long car trip with my husband I was starting to whine about how long it was taking, how boring the scenery was, nothing to do, etc… when all of a sudden it hit me—we were traveling in one hour what would have taken nearly three days to accomplish in the 1800’s. (We had just come from Wall Drug in South Dakota so I think “the old times” were fresh on my mind.)

Suddenly, the ideas just started flowing!

I whipped out my notebook and soon I had pages and pages of notes, including character descriptions, settings, and a brief storyline. It was one of those rare moments where everything clicked into place.

And, as anyone who’s written a novel can attest to, then the real work began.

Occasionally, I will pull out that same notebook to see how far I’ve come. The physical descriptions for the two main characters are pretty much the same, but their personalities have undergone dramatic changes. Also, there wasn’t one mention of a covered wagon or The Oregon Trail.

.

.

Christi’s Blogging Fun

.

•You enjoy blogging, having started your own and making guest appearances on others. What are your favorite aspects about blogging? Where can we find your guest posts?

Blogging gives me a chance to connect with people like me who have a vivid love of the written word. It gives me a chance to share my writing journey, seek advice, and interact with wonderfully encouraging people.

Last December, I won a contest to be the guest host of the blog, Pimp My Novel. My post detailed how when I was young I always pictured a writer’s space as one way, then when I became a writer what the reality was like.

Also, I was recently asked to guest host over at the site Ramblings from the Left. My post will appear on April 15th.

.

.

Christi’s Perseverance

.

•Did you ever reach a point when you considered giving up?

Plenty.

Years ago, my husband accidentally removed the word program from our computer. This allowed me to see all my files and documents, but not open them. I have little computer knowledge, so I had to find someone to reinstall the program without erasing my book.

While I waited, I thought of new adventures for my characters.

The high-risk pregnancy and premature birth of our twins took me away from my novel for nearly three years.

But the story always stayed with me.

Nothing throws a writing schedule off like a cross-country move and we’ve lived in five states. Each time, I packed all my inspiration up and waited until there was time to get back to my schedule.

But I never gave up. Even though at times my writing had to be pushed to the back burner of my life, it never left me completely. And now, I’m proud of all I have to show for my determination.

I truly believe if you have a flexible, well-laid plan and persevere through the many setbacks bound to come along, success will happen.

.

.

Partners on Christi’s Journey

.

•Who holds the position of President of the Christi Corbett Fan Club?

When I started writing my novel, I had no idea how incredibly difficult, and time consuming, the process would be. I would like to take this opportunity to thank my husband for all that he does to help me on my journey to publication. He has supported me through this entire experience, and been by my side for all the highs, and lows.

.

.

Christi’s Journey Continues

.

•What are you working on now?

Aside from the last round of rewrites to my manuscript, I’ve been very busy writing and producing my book trailer with Attic Media Inc. Overall, the experience of seeing my words come to life has been fantastic! Please stop by my blog for a look.

Also, the sequel to my novel is completed and patiently awaiting revisions.

.

.

Five Fun Facts about Christi, the Writer

.

~ I often dress in character to write. (Long skirts, cowboy hats, etc…) It really gives me a feel for just how annoying all that fabric would be while trying to do much of anything!

~ I write with countless props nearby, many of which appear in the book trailer.

~ I use music, usually classical, for inspiration while I write. I have been known to listen to one song, Beethoven’s Moonlight Sonata, on repeat while revising particular scenes. The entire soundtrack to the movie All the Pretty Horses is also very inspiring.

~ My very first television commercial I ever wrote was for a funeral home. I slaved over it for hours only to have my boss say it didn’t read right and needed major changes before it could hit the air.

~ As a result of the above, I can handle brutal critiques very easily! (By the way, my old boss and I have remained very close friends over the years and he is one of my biggest supporters.)

.

.

Five Fun Facts about Christi, the Person

.

~ I don’t own a cell phone.

~ I take my children on weekly trips to the library and at any given time we have over ten books checked out.

~ I make a fantastic buttermilk biscuit. The recipe is a family secret, passed down from generation to generation, and no, I won’t share it :-).

~ I’ve donated my hair to Locks of Love twice, and somewhere in a still-unpacked box is a third ponytail waiting to be mailed out.

~ My husband brings me coffee in bed, every morning.

.

.

Christi’s Question for You

I want to improve my blog and gain more readers. I would love to know your thoughts on what makes a blog interesting, and makes you want to return day after day?

.

.

Christi’s Drawing

Christi has generously offered to give away a copy of Laura Ingalls Wilder Country: The People and Places in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Life and Books.

Here is a brief excerpt from the back cover…

This book revisits the lands of the Little Houses and takes the reader on an enchanting tour of the places and people Laura knew and loved. Inside, full-color photographs capture the outside world of nature that still looks much as it did in Laura’s day. Interspersed with the contemporary photographs are historic and family photographs and scenes of Laura’s writing desk and rocking chair, Pa’s fiddle and the family Bible, and the restored or re-created rooms the Ingalls and Wilder families lived in to show how life was lived a hundred years ago. For those who love Laura, this book lets us see the first time what we have read about so often.

To enter the drawing, just leave a comment for Christi by midnight April 6 (Pacific time) and enter your email address when prompted during the comment process. (You don’t have to leave it in the body of your comment this way.)

On April 7, Christi will hold the drawing and share the winner’s name in a comment. I’ll post the winner’s name here as well and will contact her/him via email to get a mailing address. (I don’t share your information with anyone, other than sending your mailing address to my guest, and I don’t add your name to any mailing lists.)

Congratulations to Christi’s winner: Lizbeth Selvig!

Note: Offer void where prohibited.

Limited to those with U.S. mailing addresses.

Odds of winning vary due to the number of entrants.

.

.

Learn More About Christi

Visit her personal blog ~ Christi Corbett’s Blog

Friend Her on Facebook ~ Christi Corbett

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in blogging, writer interview, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Meet Novelist Christi Corbett

  1. Keli Gwyn says:

    Welcome, Christi! It’s great to have you as my guest and have this opportunity to learn more about you.

    I prefer to read blogs that offer information of interest to writers. Jody Hedlund’s is one of my favorites. She offers consistently good content, and I learn so much from her.

  2. Tracy says:

    Christi,
    It is amazing to hear how life takes you on many turns but you still come back to what counts, your writing. You will give hope and inspiration to many with your success.

    I enjoy a blog that pertains to real life, shares insight and most importantly, adds humor to my day!!

    Congratulations!

  3. cheryl says:

    It was interesting to learn more about Christi’s life and her activities. She has definitly been determined to complete her book even with all the interuptions her life has given her. I have been following her blog and wish her all the best in publishing her novel. Hope to see it in the stores soon.

  4. Charlotte says:

    I love reading Christi’s blog, and I learned more about her today. Really enjoyed the story about the inspiration for the novel. Travel often inspires me, too.

  5. Jill Nutter says:

    Hi Keli! Hi Christi!
    It’s so nice to learn more about you. With your degree in Communications and your job history I’m sure you’ve learned how to write tight. I think this is something many writers struggle with. I know I’m one of them.

    I have a wonderful hubby but he doesn’t bring me coffee in bed every morning. Nice! You have gorgeous hair and your donations to Locks of Love is incredible. Way to go!

    I agree with Keli about Jody Hedlund’s blog. I think it’s difficult to attract a lot of blog traffic before you get published. I’d focus on the writing and not worry too much about the blog traffic. It will come. I don’t know how writers do it after they get published. Find your niche. I think that’s sharing your accomplishments in the advertising world and relating them to novel writing.

    Dream Big my friend. Oh, and I’ll be happy to give you my address so you can send me some buttermilk biscuits. Loved your trailer too.

  6. Keli Gwyn says:

    Hi to you, Jill! You’re going to learn how published authors juggle everything now that you got that wonderful three-book deal. Congrats again!! I’m happy dancing for you!

  7. christicorbett says:

    Thanks to everyone for your great ideas about blogging. You’ve given me lots to think about.

    Tracy and Cheryl: Life really has taken me on some turns, but I really think of my writing as the one constant that keeps me grounded. Thanks for your support!

    Charlotte: For some reason traveling, be it driving or riding, has always been a way to get some good, long thinking in. During one period in college, I worked an hour away from school so that allowed for some serious “pondering time”.

    What are some ways travel has inspired you?

    Jill: Unfortunately, I’ve always written long and was known to provide several scripts to clients since I had so many ideas. But, over the years I’ve learned to control myself 🙂

    I admit, I almost chickened out the first time I donated to Locks of Love, but one visit to their website to look at the photos of who would benefit from my hair had all my doubts flying away!

    Also, I too must send a HUGE congrats your way for your recent three-book deal. How wonderful!

    Christi Corbett

  8. Christi: This interview will tell so many others what I already know. You are a dedicated and thoughtful writer … a talented and strong woman and I am sure you are the best wife and mom you can be.

    I alreay love your blog and look foward to having you guest on mine. To all here I say hello and thanks for allowing me to share in this amazing process.

    Bless the three book deal and may it come to us all in time.

    Congratulations for a job well done,
    Florence Fois

  9. christicorbett says:

    Florence,
    Thank you so much for your kind words. It was lovely being able to speak with you on the phone the other day.

    And, I can hardly wait to guest host on your great site on April 15th (plug, plug, plug :))

    As for Jill’s three-book deal, again I must say “WOW!”

    Christi

  10. Sydney says:

    The fact that you’ve come this far speaks loads for your dedication to the writing craft, keep up the work and faith, Christi!

  11. Lydia Sharp says:

    Wow! What an awesome story, Christi. 🙂 You are a true inspiration.
    And to answer the question about blogging, what keeps me going is seeing things like this wonderful interview, “meeting” other authors like you through the blogosphere, and having a fun way to connect to everyone and stay updated on all their happenings.
    Good luck to you in all you do!

  12. christicorbett says:

    Sydney,
    Thanks for your kind words. It seems everywhere I turn is something new I need to learn about writing, but that is what makes this career path interesting :).

    Lydia,
    Thanks for stopping by and letting me know what you like about blogging. And, for those of you who don’t know Lydia, she was also a guest host with me on the site “Pimp My Novel”, and runs a GREAT blog!

  13. JenBloom says:

    Great Interview!

    I am fortunate to have read Along the Way Home and I loved it. Kate is such an inspiring heroine. Christi-What inspires you most about the women who made the journey on the Oregon Trail?

    As for blog advice, my favorite blogs are updated often and have a good mix of interesting topics and real life anecdotes.

    Keep up the great work!

  14. Quilt Lady says:

    This sounds like a very interesting book and I would love to read it! I have never read your books before!

  15. christicorbett says:

    Jen,
    Thank you again for your willingness to read the entire manuscript and give your honest feedback about what worked and what didn’t for you.

    And, I have to admit, when you cried during one particulary sad scene was a moment of great elation for me! That was how I knew that scene accomplished what I wanted it to 🙂

    As for your question, I would have to say that they survived the brutal realities of trail life only to arrive in an unsettled land. Many times, women didn’t have a choice in going, they just had to do what was asked of them. But, like women through the ages, they flourished even under the pressures of great adversity.

    I look forward to sharing the sequel with you soon!

    Quilt Lady,
    I would love to find a publisher so you can read it 🙂 But, in the meantime, you can always visit my blog and read an excerpt and view the book trailer.

    Thanks again for your support!

  16. Hi Christie,
    It’s nice to “meet” you on Keli’s blog site. I loved reading about your journey and your inspiration for the novel. I’ve been blessed to travel a bit, too, and scenery, local residents, and the local politics always get me inspired. I can’t wait to see your book on the shelves so I can read it 🙂

    Thanks for your inspiration on perseverance and on how to keep so many balls in the air. I’m always looking for tips on THAT subject! I’m not the most faithful of blog readers–there are so many wonderful ones that I can’t keep up. But the good ones always are those that touch on universal subjects, be those writer-issues or life journeys that we all share–spiced with your special take, of course. Good luck with your blog–but, I think it’s true: concentrate on your writing journey and the topics will flow!

    Good luck–hope to keep in touch with you.
    Liz

  17. christicorbett says:

    Lizbeth,
    Thanks for stopping by! Someone I worked with said having a lot of projects going at once was like trying to lug an armful of boulders up a giant hill; some were secure in your arms and some would likely fall out. If you stopped and bent down to get the ones that fell you would likely drop them all. But, once you dropped off the rocks at the top you could always go back and fetch the rest.

    That was a long-winded way of saying sometimes I’ve had to pick and choose what to focus on, but I’ve never forgotten to pick up what I had to leave behind 🙂

    Thanks for the blogging tips, and the advice. I look forward to seeing you on my blog soon…

    Christi

  18. christicorbett says:

    I’ve held the drawing for the prize. And, the winner is…Lizbeth Selvig!

    A sincere thank you to all who stopped by and left a comment. Your support is wonderful and your feedback/ideas to my questions left me with lots to think about!

    And finally, thank you again to the host of this wonderful blog, Keli! She selflessly gives her time to keep this going and deserves a round of cyber-applause!

    Christi

  19. Keli Gwyn says:

    Congratulations, Lizbeth, on winning Christ’s drawing! I’ll be in touch.

    Christi, thanks for the kind words. It’s been a pleasure having you as my guest.

  20. Eva says:

    Christi,

    What a cool interview! It was good to learn more about you, your life and your experiences, love of reading and writing (which I too share) and the struggles you’ve had during this amazing journey. It is great to be able to learn about who an author is, and how their lives and experiences have helped influence their writing. I am definitely rooting for you and cannot wait to read your book when it is published! Keep up the good work…you’re almost there! BTW the book trailer is amazing! 🙂

Comments are closed.