FF: Dreaming of a First Sale

Itโ€™s Frabjous Friday, time to have some fun and celebrate our successes. If you have good news, I invite you to let us know about it in a comment so we can happy dance with you.

.

A Proposal . . .

Upon returning from the ACFW conference in Indianapolis in September, I set to work preparing my first-ever proposal package. I’ve sent a rough draft to my agent, Rachelle Gardner, who will help me polish that important document until it’s ready for submission.

I’ve been writing with the goal of publication for nearly five years, but this is the first time my work will actually be shopped. I’m both excited and a wee bit scared.

.

A Possibility . . .

Since my wise husband said it’s OK to hold out hope that an editor might like my story and want to offer me a contract, I decided to let myself imagine the possibility.

I’ve interviewed many debut novelists at Romance Writers on the Journey. One of my favorite questions to ask is, “How did you react when you received The Call, and how did you celebrate that milestone?”

Since I screamed “Oh. My. Gosh!” at the top of my lungs as I literally bounced off the walls when I opened that life-changing email in which Rachelle said she wanted to “discuss the possibility of representation,” I figure when she calls to tell me we have a contract offer I’ll react with some volume. I trust she’s used to holding the phone far from her ear when delivering such news. ๐Ÿ™‚

.

A Plan . . .

How will I celebrate the good news? Here’s what I envision.

First: I’ll make six important phone calls, to my husband, our daughter, my mom, my dad, and my two critique partners.

Second: I’ll chill the Asti. I rarely drink since I don’t like the taste of most alcoholic beverages, but I discovered Asti at Olive Garden and like to have a glass on special occasions. Once I’m at liberty to share the BIG news publicly, I’ll put a short message on Twitter and Facebook: “I opened the Asti!” Then, I’ll do just that.

Third: I’ll go out to dinner at Olive Garden with Gwynly. That’s our special spot for celebrating Valentime’s Day, my birthday, and our anniversary. (In fact, Rachelle’s exciting email arrived on our 22nd anniversary. I received it as soon as we got home from Olive Garden. How’s that for great timing?!)

Fourth: I will contact an excellent seamstress I know to set up an appointment to discuss having a Victorian dress made. I’d like one similar to what the heroine wears in the final scene of my historical romance. I have an actual cartes de visite that served as my inspiration, and I would ask my friend to use the dress the woman is wearing in the historical photograph as a model. The color will be my heroine’s favorite: purple. The silk flowers at the throat will be violets.

I’m sure there will be many other ways I celebrate, but until that long-awaited day arrives, I really don’t know exactly how I’ll react or what I’ll do. One thing I do know is that I’m sure to be sporting an enormous grin for weeks. ๐Ÿ˜€

.

.

I wanna know . . .

If you’ve sold, how did you celebrate?

If you’ve yet to sell, how do you envision celebrating when you do?

What’s the most memorable First Sale celebration you’ve heard of?

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curvesโ„ข and reading.
This entry was posted in Frabjous Fridays, writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to FF: Dreaming of a First Sale

  1. I love your ideas. I had not let myself dream that far.

    Now with your permission. . . LOL.

    Gotta go. . . I have some daydreaming to do.

  2. Diane says:

    I would probably make a lot of calls too. Not sure what I would do. Maybe sit in my favorite spot on the couch, wrap myself in the blanket and smile. :O)

  3. The next call I’m hoping to get is from an agent who wants to represent me. I imagine I’ll probably be shaking, crying, and begging my husband to take me out somewhere special.

  4. Sherrinda says:

    Ooooo, fun post, Keli! I love your idea about the dress, because that is such a unique way of celebrating! I want to see a picture with YOU in in!!!!

    I can’t imagine what I would do. Scream, of course. Then maybe take the whole family to eat somewhere fun.

  5. Keli, I am so excited for you!! I have been writing my autobiography/self help book for over 30 yrs. I have completed it for my family and who knows if it will ever get published! But if it did I would cry-ha! And celebrate with family and thank God. I pray that you will have every success as you are so deserving! Hugs, Kerrie

  6. Hi Keli, I love that you have your “first call” all planned out. Now that is being prepared. And positive thinking. But I’ll probably hear you screaming clear across the Sierra’s and desert.

    Hope its soon. I think you must be this close. smile

    And hey, won’t you go to Taco Bell too and tell them? After all they have been a big part of your writing life.

  7. Keli, I love your plans. I can’t wait to read all about them after you get the exciting call.

    My big call would be an agent call, which I am hoping for soon ๐Ÿ™‚ Like you, I don’t want to hope too much, but since I have your permission to dream a little, I’d definitely celebrate somehow. Dinner out and a mile-wide grin for sure!

  8. Great plans, Keli. I think you are very close to realizing this vision.

    I might do all of the above … or I might just sit and do nothing at all.

    Like most, I would make a few phone calls and then let it settle into my head.

    You are half way there with an agent and that is a great milestone in itself.

    I look forward to getting the post that tells us you opened the Asti.

    Great post as always ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Haven’t written my query yet. Duh. I suppose I would celebrate the same way my hubby and I celebrate anything. We would go out to dine and possibly at Olive Garden. We like Olive Garden, too.

  10. Anne Barton says:

    Get that champagne ready, Keli! It’s always good to be prepared. I’m glad I’m on the call list. ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Susan Mason says:

    I haven’t thought that far ahead, Keli. But I know I’ll be doing a happy dance!

    I’m sure your day is close at hand and I’ll celebrate big time for you!

    Sue

Comments are closed.