Meet Debut Novelist Ashley March

Ashley March transports her readers to the Victorian era in her historical romances, focusing on the deepening relationships between her heroes and heroines. Her debut novel, Seducing the Duchess, is available now from NAL.

Denver, Colorado is home, where Ashley lives with her husband, who proudly tells all his friends that his wife is a published romance author, and their one-year-old daughter, who loves trying to escape out the doggie door. Ashley and her husband are expecting another daughter in mid-November.

Ashley is currently a stay-at-home mom, but she did work in higher education in administrative roles in the past. She’s the first person I’ve met who holds a bachelor’s degree in Mandarin Chinese. When she’s not busy keeping up with her daughter in her real world or with her characters in her fictional world, Ashley enjoys reading, collecting (not using!) cookbooks, studying foreign languages, and hiking. She planned to be a translator for the NSA and is writing a non-romance book about genocide.

.

.

Ashley is serving up cyber fare I can’t resist and think she may tempt you, too. Check it out . . .

My favorite Mexican food is verde enchiladas: cheese enchiladas topped with tomatillo sauce. Since it’s fun to try new things (like debut authors *wink*), I have plates for everyone today.

I invite you to give in to your cravings, fill one of those plates, and enjoy Ashley’s delish dish while learning more about her and her journey to publication.

.

.

Ashley’s Journey Begins

.

•When did you become serious about seeing your name in print and begin calling yourself a writer?

I had tried to write a romance book in 2006, simply because I was bored with the classes I was taking in college that semester. Even while writing it, though, I knew it was awful. I think the final moment of realization came when I couldn’t think of anything for my hero and heroine to talk about besides their favorite color. 🙂

After that, I didn’t really think I had it in me to be a writer. But in early 2008 I read a fantastic book (I can’t remember what it was now), and it inspired me to just go to my computer and write. I did, and it was so much fun.

I decided that if I was going to try writing again, I would be serious about it this time. I think when I joined the online romance critique group RomCritters was the moment I began calling myself a writer. Then not only was I accountable to myself, but to my critique partners as well. I had actual readers!

.

.

Ashley’s Squee-worthy Successes

.

We’ve heard the old saying, “Good things come in threes.” For you, that definitely seems to be the case. You wrote three stories, finaled in three contests, landed an agent who sold your story three months later, and your First Sale was a three-book contract. Wow! You’ve had many occasions to squee. I wanna hear more about those life-changing phone calls you received.

•Call #1 – The First Contest Call . . .

How did you react when you picked up the phone and a contest coordinator shared the exciting news that one of your stories was a finalist?

Do you usually receive a call? I didn’t. I received an email. But oh, it was a perfectly lovely email. 🙂 I remember reading it, re-reading it, and then re-reading it again. I told my husband (who always reacts with “What’s wrong?” when I say “Guess what?”).

I remember thinking that maybe this really was meant to be; after all, at that time I’d only been *seriously* writing for four months when I entered that specific contest. I was blown away.

.

What did you learn from your pre-publication contest experiences?

There’s a caveat to my response above about finaling in a contest. Before that, I had entered another contest a couple of months earlier and received a lot of constructive criticism. The judges liked my voice, but there were tons of things I was doing wrong.

I think, more than anything else, being able to get that kind of feedback from published authors was vital to the future of my writing career. They gave me hope for the future, but at the same time showed me that I still had a lot to learn. Even today, there are still dozens of ways I could improve my writing, but fortunately I’m no longer blind to it like I once was.

.

•Call #2 – The Agent Call (x2) . . .

You’ve experienced the thrill of receiving two Agent Calls. Your first had to have been incredibly exciting. Where were you when that call came? Did you scream in the agent’s ear, babble incoherently, or stare at the phone in stunned silence?

Although it was extremely exciting, it was a little anti-climactic. Instead of getting a call first, I received an email the night before asking if she could call me the next day. Of course, I hardly slept that night, and was a ball of nerves when she finally did call. I wrote up a list of questions like I heard you’re supposed to do, but it didn’t matter. I was already prepared to agree to be her client. 🙂

I had just started a new day job a couple of weeks earlier, and had to take the call in the front office, so I was limited to screaming or anything of the sort. But I do remember my head felt like it was spinning from giddiness and I talked really fast. It was an amazing day.

.

Sadly, your agent resigned from the Trident Media Group, forcing you to seek representation once again. Since you’d already sold, your situation was different than the first time. How did you go about your search, and were you just as excited when you signed as you’d been before?

As soon as I realized my agent had resigned (I was devastated), the first thing I thought of was trying to talk to Kristin Nelson of the Nelson Literary Agency. Not only is the agency located here in Denver where I live, but Kristin is the agent of historical authors I love, such as Sherry Thomas and Courtney Milan.

I sent a query explaining my situation, and Kristin asked me to go ahead and send my first manuscript (Seducing the Duchess). Although she didn’t like it well enough to offer, her associate agent, Sara Megibow (who is absolutely fabulous! And not just because she likes my work) raved about it and offered me representation.

I was probably more excited this time than I was receiving the call from Trident Media Group because Nelson Lit had always been my first choice. I’m extremely blessed to be represented by Sara; in only three months she’s shown me the difference between a good agent and a stellar one (and she’s the latter).

.

•Call #3 – The First Sale Call . . .

December 4, 2009 is a day you’ll remember for years to come. You made your First Sale. Instead of receiving The Call, though, you made a call and received a pleasant surprise. Please tell us about this monumental event, and be sure to include all the emotion we romance writers love.

At that time, the manuscript had been out on submission for over 6 weeks. We’d only had one rejection, which wasn’t bad, but no other comments. I called my agent to check in and see if we’d heard anything back from anyone else that week (read: any more rejections), and she told me was about to call me because she’d just gotten off the phone with NAL, who loved the story and wanted to offer a 3-book deal!

I think my jaw must have hung open for more than a few seconds, I was so stunned. This time, I remember leaping up from my chair (I was at work again) and spinning in circles. I’m sure I asked her questions, but my mind was too full with the news to really hear what she said.

I called my husband afterward and said “Guess what?” Of course, he thought something was wrong. 🙂 When I told him the news, he started shouting and whooping over the phone. It was a fantastic day, and it still feels surreal that I’m actually published!

.

.

Ashley’s Challenges

.

•Writers encounter many challenges. You’ve faced some tough ones: problematic pregnancies, loss of a loved one, and changes on the day job. My heart goes out to you as I think of all you’ve been through. How have you dealt with these situations?

When I was writing Seducing the Duchess, I was pregnant for almost the entire time. Things got complicated with the pregnancy toward the last few months, and I was put on short-term disability. I didn’t feel like doing anything at all! But I have a couple of fabulous critique partners who saw potential in the story, and they kept encouraging me to write. I finished a couple of months after my daughter was born, and am now very glad that I stuck with it. 🙂

For my second book, I was scheduled to complete it earlier this year. But my mother was diagnosed with Stage IV lung cancer in mid-March and then passed away in late April, and I was a wreck. I cannot tell you how wonderful my publisher was; not only did they tell me to get back to writing whenever I felt like it, but they also sent me a card. Because of the delay, my second book won’t be coming out for another year, in Fall 2011. I dedicated Seducing the Duchess to my mom because throughout everything, she never stopped supporting me and believing that one day I would get published.

Finally, I was laid off from my day job in higher education in late May of this year. It was completely unexpected, but such a blessing in disguise now. I’d been wanting to stay at home with my daughter and devote more time to writing, and now I can. I’m also very blessed to have a husband who supports my career 110% and believes this is what’s best for me.

.

•You also struggle with procrastination and perfectionism. As a recovering perfectionist, I can relate. Now that you’re contracted, though, you’re writing under deadline. How are you coping with the pressure this presents, which has to be a challenge to one who likes to turn in a manuscript polished to a glossy sheen?

Funny you should ask about deadlines. I actually had to ask for an extension for my second book (my first writing deadline!). It was embarrassing, and I was very humbled. But I think I’ve finally gotten to the point now where I understand my own limitations, and have a pretty solid writing routine down.

As for the perfectionism, I still struggle with it. In the past, I would edit as I write—meaning I could spend 2 hours on one page, just looking for the right word or deciding how to phrase a certain sentence. I’m continuing to train myself now to write everything out first to get my word count, then go back later to edit. It’s hard, but it’s the only way I know how to keep to those pesky deadlines. 🙂

.

.

Ashley’s Writing Process

.

•Noise or Silence?

Silence. No music, no TV in the background, nada.

.

Laptop or Desktop?

Usually at the desktop in my cozy little office in the basement (which turns really, really cold when winter hits!). But right now I’m pregnant again, and I have to switch from desktop to laptop to relieve various aching body parts.

.

•More Creative in the a.m. or p.m.?

P.M., definitely. I’ve tried to write in the morning, but it just doesn’t work. I don’t drink either coffee or tea, so I can only wait until I’ve had enough sunlight to wake up my brain. Plus, I like to work when it’s quiet, and that’s usually at night when the neighbors aren’t mowing or sawing or whatever they do at the unholy hour of 6 a.m. in the morning. Yes, I’m a little bitter. 🙂

.

•Research in advance or as you write?

Depends. If I know that I’m going to write a particular scene that needs research (such as the fair scene in Seducing the Duchess), I’ll do it ahead of time. But usually I research as I write, for example, if I find that I need to know what type of flowers really blossom in Wiltshire, England in the fall.

.

•Go with the flow or follow a schedule?

I try to follow my schedule as much as possible; it prevents procrastination, which we already know I’m a sucker for. But I also try to be flexible if my family needs me, especially on the weekends when we’re all at home.

.

.

Ashley’s Debut Novel

.

•Please tell us about Seducing the Duchess.

It was just another scandalous night…

Gambling. Carousing. Flirting. Charlotte, Duchess of Rutherford, will do anything to create a scandal large enough to force her husband to finally petition for a divorce. Once madly in love with Philip, she is now determined to escape from their less than civil marriage and the reminders of his betrayal.

Until he stole her away…

Philip Burgess, Duke of Rutherford, is not a man to tolerate regrets. He wed Charlotte for revenge, not for love or convenience, knowing she would come to hate him. But he never expected he would one day find himself craving her attention or desiring her company….

And gave her something more…

Philip is no longer the cold, deceitful man she married years ago. And when he promises Charlotte a divorce if she will help him become a better husband for another woman, she wonders if she truly wants to lose him—and if Philip may still possess her heart after all….

.

.

Reactions and Reviews

.

•I haven’t sold a book, but I hear the firsts can be amazing experiences. First look. First time to hold your novel in your hands. First time you read a review. What struck you the most during the months leading up to your release?

No matter how far I’ve come in the publishing journey—signing the contract, submitting edits, copy edits, and page proofs, starting promotion, even holding my book in my hands—it still feels surreal. Although my picture is on the back inside cover, it’s still hard to believe that this is the book I wrote, now available in bookstores…and that people who aren’t related to me want to read it!

Right now, it seems beyond belief that I’ll ever get to the point where I take it for granted. Even with some of the great reviews I’ve been getting, it’s still difficult to grasp.

I have to tell you the first thing I did when I received my author copies, though. I sat my daughter down on the couch (at 15 months old), handed her the book, and took pictures of her “reading” it. However, I probably won’t let her actually read it until she’s 18. 🙂

.

.

Ashley’s Journey Continues

.

Seducing a Duchess is in stores. What can your readers’ look forward to next?

My next book, Romancing the Countess, will be coming out in Fall 2011. Although the titles are similar, the characters are completely unrelated to the first book. In this second story, an earl and his best friend’s wife are drawn together after their spouses die in a carriage accident, and they realize their spouses were having an affair.

I’m really excited about this book (and nervous!) because it seems so different from what I’ve read in other historical romances. The hero and heroine don’t have an instant hatred or attraction for each other, and there’s a delicate balance between maintaining their grief and anger along with their growing awareness of each other. But it turned out to be a very sweet, sexy, emotionally intense story, and I can’t wait to hear what readers think next year!

.

.

Five Ways Ashley Fuels Her Creativity

.

~ I love listening to Sara Bareilles and the Foo Fighters when I’m in the car, because unlike most popular musicians these days, their songs actually tell stories. Over and over again, I’ll hear a phrase here or even a word there that will give me an idea, or just set me in a writing mood.

~ Romantic comedies inspire me. I try to write with both angst and humor, and romantic comedies always give me the happy ending I love in romance novels. A few of my faves: Two Weeks Notice, 27 Dresses, and although it’s not a typical romantic comedy, Love Actually.

~ Reading other romance novels fuels my creativity and inspires me. If it’s a fantastic book, it will make me want to start writing at that very minute. And sometimes I’ll read a line in a book that will give me a spark of an idea for one of my own stories.

~ I have a bookshelf devoted to Victorian history that I peruse often, not only for research, but just so I can remind myself what the era *felt* like. I’ve also found some great ideas for books through reading these when I wasn’t necessarily looking for anything specific.

~ Exercise helps me clear my mind of distractions and focus on ideas or plot issues I’m having. If I’m stuck on a certain page, just going for a 10-minute walk will often help me figure out what’s going wrong and let me go back to work with greater enthusiasm.

.

.

Ashley’s Question for You

In Seducing the Duchess, Charlotte is sometimes overtly sexual in the role she plays in trying to get Philip to divorce her. Without purposefully meaning to, I created gloves as a part of the story to symbolize both her vulnerability and daring (when she feels vulnerable, she keeps them on around Philip; when she wants to make him angry, she takes them off in front of others).

When you write, do you ever weave items as symbols in your storytelling? If so, what item did you use as a symbol in your most recent work?

.

Ashley’s Drawing

Ashley has generously offered to give away an autographed copy of Seducing the Duchess.

To enter the drawing, just leave a comment for Ashley by midnight November 9 (Pacific time) and enter your email address when prompted during the comment process. (You don’t have to leave it in the body of your comment this way.)

On November 10, I will hold the drawing and post the winner’s name here as well as in a comment and will contact her/him via email to get a mailing address. (I don’t share your information with anyone, other than sending your mailing address to my guest, and I don’t add your name to any mailing lists.)

Congratulations to Christina, winner of the drawing!

Note: Offer void where prohibited.
Odds of winning vary due to the number of entrants.

.

Learn More About Ashley

Visit her website ~ http://www.ashleymarch.com

Visit her personal blog ~ http://www.ashleymarch.com/blog

Friend her on Facebook ~ Ashley March

Follow her on Twitter ~ ashleymarch34

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in author interview, first sale story, writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Meet Debut Novelist Ashley March

  1. Great interview, Keli! Ashley, those are wonderful milestones in your writing journey. Congratulations! And it’s so nice to find other authors that live nearby–I’m in a suburb of Denver. Congratulations again on your success!

  2. Jillian Kent says:

    Hi Ashley, Hi Keli!
    You’ve been through some really difficult times, Ashley. What helps you cope? Although I’m a counselor and tell my college students how unhealthy perfectionism is I’m finding myself struggling with it just a bit since my revisions for my first book are due on the 17th. I know it will never be perfect, it’s hard to let it go, but I will. 🙂

    I tried being a morning writer too, but I just don’t wake up early enough before the day job. Best of luck with your new book.

  3. Christina says:

    I’ve been trying to turn myself into a morning writer, too. It’s not working. My creativity seems to flow after the sun sets.

    I’ve used symbols. In my most recent one it’s a veil.

  4. Susan Mason says:

    Congratulations on your 3 book contract, Ashley! The cover is gorgeous – that alone will attract lots of readers!

    As for symbols, I used a necklace in one of my stories. Not sure what it symbolized, but it was very important to the heroine and at the climax, she gives it away to her sister. A symbol of sacrifice I guess.

    Best of luck with your upcoming new baby!

    Cheers,
    Sue

  5. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks to everyone who has stopped by. Ashley just sent me a message letting me know that she’s in the hospital with a sick baby and is therefore unable to respond to comments. If you’re so inclined, I invite you to say a prayer on her behalf. ~ Keli

  6. Susan Mason says:

    Hi Keli,

    Is it her new baby or her toddler? Hope everything is okay.

    Sue

  7. Jillian Kent says:

    Praying for healing for baby and calm for mom. So hard. Take care, Ashley.

  8. Please tell Ashley I loved reading her story. It is always so inspiring to hear about another writer’s journey. Thanks Keli for the interview.

    Please tell Ashley I’m praying for her health and the health of her baby.

  9. Pageturner says:

    What a fabulous premise for a story! – can’t wait to read it.

  10. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks to everyone who’s stopped by and to those who are praying for Ashley and her little one.

    I’d like to postpone the drawing until I hear from Ashley. I appreciate your understanding.

    Keli

  11. Ashley March says:

    Hi Everyone:

    I apologize for not being able to be here Monday! I had my new little girl on Friday, was discharged from the hospital Sunday, then had to immediately take her back in Monday for a couple of days in the hospital due to severe jaundice. I’ve been told this happens to a lot of babies, and she’s much better now, but it was still scary for me as a mom when it happened. Thank you so much for understanding and for all your prayers.

  12. Ashley March says:

    Hi Cindy! I’m always surprised to find out how many writers live in the Denver area. Great to hear there’s another one. =) Did you go to RomCon this year? I didn’t have a chance, but I’m hoping to go to it next year, since it will be in Denver again. Also, I’m one of the co-founders of the Denver Lady Jane’s Salon (denverladyjanes.blogspot.com). Hope to see you there sometime!

  13. Ashley March says:

    Hi Jillian. =)

    How do I cope with tough times? Even though I write secular romance, I am a Christian, and I honestly wouldn’t have been able to make it through this past year without God. The death of my mother was really difficult, and I find it’s easiest not to think about it if I can. Also, I am truly blessed to have a one-in-a-million husband who supports me whole-heartedly. I don’t think I would have been able to come this far with my writing without his support behind me.

    As far as perfectionism…it’s hard to tell sometimes if it’s a blessing or a curse, isn’t it? =) Now that I have deadlines, I find that the best way of thinking for me is just to do the best I can within the time that I have allotted. If I didn’t have a deadline, my perfectionism might require one year per book–and that’s simply not good for establishing the sort of career I’d like to have. Having fantastic critique partners helps, too. Good luck with your own deadline!

  14. Ashley March says:

    Hi Christina!

    I just love sleeping far too much to be a morning writer. Writing past midnight? Fine. But getting me up to write once I’ve fallen asleep? Nah. Guess that’s why I have the 10-4 shift and my husband has the 4-7 shift with the new baby. Still, if you add up the hours, that still seems a bit unbalanced… =)

  15. Ashley March says:

    Hi Sue!

    Thanks for the congrats and for the comment on the cover. =) I was so happy when I first saw it, and hope the next book’s cover is just as gorgeous.

    I like your description of the necklace as a symbol. Just that little piece makes me interested in the story. =)

  16. Ashley March says:

    Hi Sandra:

    Thank you for your prayers, and for reading my interview with Keli!

    Even as a published author now, I still enjoy reading about other writers’ journeys…there’s just something about the writing community that inspires you to write more and write better.

  17. Ashley March says:

    Hi Pageturner!

    Thanks! I hope you enjoy it. =)

  18. Ashley March says:

    Hi Keli:

    I just wanted to say again how much I appreciate you having me on your blog, and for understanding my absence. I thoroughly enjoyed being interviewed by you, and can’t wait to hear about the next step in your own writer’s journey. =)

  19. Keli Gwyn says:

    Ashley,

    Congratulations on the birth of your daughter. I’m so sorry she encountered some complications but am glad to hear she’s well and back home now.

    I’m on my way out the door to my first-ever Women of Faith conference. I’ll hold the drawing on Sunday when I’m home again.

  20. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks again to everyone who stopped by to learn more about Ashley and her journey to publication.

    I held the drawing for the copy of Ashley’s book, which she so generously offered as a prize, and the winner is Christina.

    Congratulations, Christina! I’ll be in touch.

  21. Ashley March says:

    Thanks again, Keli, for hosting me, and to everyone for your comments! Thank you for reading my interview, and best wishes to everyone on your writing journeys. =)

Comments are closed.