FF: Fun and Fanciful Gifts for Writers

I’ve seen several blog posts recently suggesting items to give our writing buddies for Christmas, but here are some I haven’t seen on those lists.

.

For starters . . .

•A daily visit from a housekeeper

•A hair stylist who makes house calls

•A chauffeur to take her kids to their activities

•An endless supply of her favorite beverage or munchie

•A home-cooked meal delivered to her door each evening

.

Being generous people, let’s add . . .

•A few hours to her day

•A deluge of inspiration

•A thick skin rejections can’t penetrate

•An encouraging email from her favorite author

•An all expenses paid trip to her favorite writing conference

.

And don’t forget . . .

•A contest final and subsequent win

•A critique partner who offers awesome feedback

•An offer of representation from her Dream Agent

•A multiple-book contract from her Dream Publisher

•An endorsement offer from a NYT bestselling author

.

While I’d love to shower my writing friends with gifts from the lists, alas, I don’t possess a magic wand or unlimited funds. I did, however, find a cool item, one that would a make a perfect present for a novelist or memoir writer. Check it out!

.

 

.
I love motivational sayings and have them on plaques hung on all four walls of my home office, but none I have is as fitting for a writer as this one. Talk about encouraging. I do wish it said “read” instead of “hear,” but since I hear characters in my head as both a reader and a writer, it works for me. 🙂

I found the plaque in a local store. It’s manufactured by Riverland Designs and is from a company called Gift Craft ~ http://www.giftcraft.com. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find an online supplier, but I’m offering one of the plaques in . . .

.

A Drawing

As my gift to you, I’m offering one of these little (2-1/2 x 4 inch) metal plaques as a prize. To enter the drawing, just leave a comment telling me which of the items on the lists above you’d most like or suggest others. The drawing ends at midnight Pacific time on December 4th.

I’ll post the winner’s name here as well as in a comment on December 5th. Be sure to leave your address during the comment process when prompted so I have a way to contact you.

Congratulations to the winner, LoRee Peery.

Offer void where prohibited. Odds of winning vary based upon number of entries.

• • • • •

It’s Frabjous Friday here at RWotJ, a day for fun and celebrations. If you have good news, please share it in a comment so we can happy dance with you.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Frabjous Fridays and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to FF: Fun and Fanciful Gifts for Writers

  1. Carla Gade says:

    I love that plaque!

    You’ve hit the nail on the head with your gift suggestions, Keli!

    Here’s what I’d choose –

    A daily visit from a housekeeper

    A few hours to her day

    An all expenses paid trip to her favorite writing conference

    A multiple-book contract from her Dream Publisher

    But my realistic practical wish for 2011 is to get to the ACFW conference. That’s my goal and I hope I make it!

    Thanks for the fun post.

    Blessings,
    Carla

    carlagade [at] gmail [dot] com

  2. Mary Strand says:

    Whew! Perfect timing on your blog today, Keli! I couldn’t remember what I wanted to do for myself, and seeing your list reminded me: book a massage. The perfect gift after hunching over a keyboard during NaNoWriMo!

  3. Deb L Mallory Bonogofsky says:

    Oh, how I would love a daily visit from a housekeeper. I would gift a writing friend with an all-day babysitter and a room full of quiet music.

  4. HAIRSTYLIST.

    Hands down.

    I heartily dislike doing my hair, which is why I neglect it. 🙂

  5. While all of the above would be great, the one I most wish for this time is the conference. RWA is in my home town in June 2011 and it smacks of a good omen.

    An addition to your list is a massage for those tired shoulders and back 🙂

    The plaque is great and would be a wonderful addition to any writer’s space.

  6. LoRee Peery says:

    A home cooked meal delivered to my door. We’ve often joked about what we’d spend the money on if someone in the family won the lottery. A cook in my kitchen any day is a fantabulous gift.

  7. Michael Schneider says:

    There are so many things on the list I would love, but in my life the gift of time has to top my list. After that I’d love a visit from a housekeeper (if she does gardening also that would be nice) and a massage.

  8. The book contract would obviously be the best gift — but oh, how I could make use of a few extra hours in the day …

  9. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks to everyone who stopped by and to those who left comments. I had to smile at the number who thought a massage would be nice. I actually had that in the post at one point and deleted it because I wasn’t sure if it was a good option. Sounds like I was on track after all. 🙂

    I’ve held the drawing for the plaque bearing the words, “The World is waiting for your Story,” and the winner is LoRee Peery.

    Congratulations, LoRee. I’ll be in touch.

Comments are closed.