FF: Are You a Sneezer?

photobucket image by monkeybiz33776

We’re entering the Cold and Flu Season when some of us will sneeze, cough, and feel miserable. But that’s not the kind of sneezing I’m talking about.

Yesterday I encountered the term sneezer used in an entirely new way. Marketing guru Seth Godin, in his blog post “Lady Gaga and me,” said, “You’re on the hunt for sneezers, for fans, for people willing to cross the street to work with you.”

Seth did a great job using content to convey the meaning, but since I’m hopelessly addicted to research and Google, I plunked “sneezer + definition” into the search bar anyhow. The first hit, from Webopedia, gave me what I was seeking.

An online marketing slang term coined by Charles Nicholls, founder of SeeWhy, to describe any customer that spreads your offers and promotions through social networks. Social networking sites make it incredibly easy for your “sneezer” customer to share promotions and positive word-of-mouth marketing about your business in a single click with his or her network of friends.

I smiled. Why? Because, according to the new meaning of the word, I’m a sneezer. And I’m happy to be one.

When the release date for the debut novel, The Preacher’s Bride, written my critique partner Jody Hedlund, neared, I volunteered to do everything I could to help Jody promote her book. Like germs that wing their way to unsuspecting bystanders when a person sneezes, I intended for my shout outs to be as far reaching as possible because this was news worth sharing.

I’m sure you have author friends for whom you’re eager to get the word out. What are some ways we can use social media help our published pals. Here are a few I came up with:

Sneezer Shout Outs using Social Media

Take a picture of yourself when you spot your friend’s book for the first time and share it on Twitter, Facebook, your blog, etc.

Post a positive review of the book on the major booksellers sites, Goodreads, Shelfari, etc.

Publish the review on your blog and include a copy of the book as a drawing prize if possible

Set up a Google alert for both your friend’s name and her book title so you can see when others post reviews, visit the sites when you receive the notices, and leave comments saying how much you enjoyed the book

When your friend’s Release Day finally arrives, share the news on Twitter and Facebook

When you learn of milestones, such as Jody’s 4-1/2 stars in RT Book Reviews or her placement on the CBA fiction best sellers list, tweet about them on Twitter and post the news on your Facebook page, her Facebook page, and her Facebook author page

• • • • •

I wanna know . . .

Had you heard the term sneezer used this way before?

Have you been privileged to serve as a sneezer for your friends?

How have you used social media to share your friends’ good news?

• • • • •

This is Frabjous Friday, a day to have fun and celebrate the good things that have happened during the week. If you have exciting news, please share it in a comment so we can join in your happy dance.

• • • • •

I will not be blogging for the rest of the year.

I wish you a blessed celebration of CHRISTmas.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Jody Hedlund, promotion, social media, writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to FF: Are You a Sneezer?

  1. Hey, Keli! I have never heard of this term before but I’ve definitely been able to help promote others’ work in certain ways. I’ve done reviews on places like CBD and Amazon, and I’ve also done reviews on my blog and book giveaways. It’s always fun to share books with friends and family that you’ve enjoyed as well–word of mouth is a great tool! I hope you have a wonderful Christmas!

  2. Liz Selvig says:

    Hi Keli!
    I had never heard this term used in this way before and it’s fascinating. I’m not nearly the good sneezer I’d like to be yet, but I’m definitely learning. I’ve started posting reviews on Amazon and B&N of all the friends’ books I read. I try to post releases and blog visits on my Facebook page. I don’t have a blog so that’s not an option yet. But I loved your suggestion of posting a picture with the book cover.

    I hope one day to be in need of sneezers of my own, so I’d really like to learn to be a good one now. Thanks to you for being such a great role model!

  3. Thanks, Keli. I had never heard of this term before. Glad you explained.

    There are several, including yourself, to whom I would sneeze like one of the Seven Dwarfts. Another is my good friend, Christi Corbett for her historical romance novel.

    Good suggestions.:)

    The only other thing I’ve heard of is part of one of yours. Set up a ten to twenty “blog tour.” LIke a book signing tour, it puts the new book on a series of blogs in a particular period of time, creating a blog “blitz.”

  4. Jody Hedlund says:

    Love the term sneezer! It’s awesome!! And you have done a magnificent job sneezing for me!! 🙂 Thank you so much for being such a great sneezer! 🙂

  5. Paul Greci says:

    Great post!! A well placed sneeze can infect a lot of people 🙂

  6. Wendy says:

    You are a big time sneezer. One of the best encouragers around!

    I’m part of Thomas Nelson’s Book Sneeze–only ever time I heard of the word meaning something good other than now.

    Merry Christmas!
    ~ Wendy

  7. I love being a sneezer (I’m about to retweet this). I’ve never heard that term before but I love it.

  8. Jennifer lane sneezed this and i saw it. I am a big sneezer and I think its a good thing to support our author friends if we are in the position to.

  9. Aurora Smith says:

    What a great term! Seems to fit quite nicely with the whole idea of ‘viral’ promotion (email, YouTube, etc.). I will be looking for things to sneeze about immediately – what a great way to spread some love and friendliness and support fellow writers!

    Aurora x

  10. Sherrinda says:

    I’ve heard it for Thomas Nelson’s Book Sneezer promotion. But I loved how you spelled it out for us on how to do it for others! It’s a great term.

  11. Jill Kemerer says:

    Keli, I hadn’t heard this term before. All I can say is “achoo!” I’m definitely a sneezer! It’s fun to help spread good news.

    Have a very Merry Christmas!

  12. Pepper says:

    Ooo, I like that definition of the term ‘sneezer’ much better than the one I’m actually LIVING with right now. AAAACHOOOO!
    And love the hints for how to be a better sneezer.
    Thanks, Keli.
    And thank you for all you’ve done for writers this year. You are awesome.

Comments are closed.