Celebrating with Novelist Stacy Monson

Stacy Monson writes contemporary inspirational romance, and she has BIG news. First a little about her, and then she’ll tell you why she’s been happy dancing this past week.

Home for Stacy is Plymouth, Minnesota, a northwestern suburb of Minneapolis, where she lives with her husband of 28 years, Mike, and their golden retriever, Libby. Stacy and her husband are deep in the midst of wedding plans for their daughter. Their son is a senior at the University of WI-Eau Claire.

Stacy still bemoans missing the memo about having summers off. Her husband and children are all (or will be) elementary teachers. But she loves her job as Community Relations Director for Touching Hearts at Home, a non-medical companion care agency serving seniors and people with disabilities.

Welcome back, Stacy! When you were my guest this past March, you were celebrating some contest placements. I know there have been more since then because I was present at one of the award ceremonies. Please tell us about these successes as well as other steps you’ve taken since your interview.

Hi Keli. Thanks for having me back. I’ve had fun celebrating with you over your recent sale, so I have to say congrats to that first.

Let’s see – a lot has happened since my interview with you in March. Finding Grace had a lot of success in 2010 on the contest circuit – it placed first in the Gotcha!, the Duel on the Delta, and the Touched by Love contest, and tied for 3rd Place in the TARA Contest. I was also a Bronze level finalist in the Frasier Contest run by Susan May Warren at My Book Therapy.

It was so exciting to find out I placed first in the Touched By Love contest – that contest is especially dear to my heart because it’s an FHL-sponsored contest (Faith, Hope & Love – the inspirational chapter of Romance Writers of America®). And it was extra fun to receive a phone call from YOU telling me I’d won, since I was unable to attend the RWA Conference in Orlando. People at the grocery store thought I was a little strange – squealing my way down the cookie aisle! My second book, Living Peace, placed first in the Heart of the Rockies contest.

In September I attended the American Christian Fiction Writers National Conference in Indianapolis where I pitched to Joyce Hart of Hartline Literary Agency. She apparently liked the premise for both books and asked me to send proposals. I love the ACFW conference – it has great workshops, lots of time to meet with authors, agents and editors, and a really great atmosphere.

Just last week, you received The Agent Call. I knew it had happened because I heard your gleeful shouting all the way from Minnesota to California. OK. That might be a bit of an exaggeration, but I know you had to be thrilled. Please tell us how the Call came about, how you reacted to the BIG news, and what you did to you celebrate.

It’s been really exciting. The first thing I had to do was learn how to even create a proposal! My good friend Brenda Anderson allowed me to basically copy her format, which was an enormous help. I sent Joyce proposals on both completed manuscripts and then began the wait.

Last week I received an email from Joyce saying she had read both proposals and would like to talk about working together. I was so stunned I called my family downstairs and asked them if it said what I thought it said! There was lots of squealing and dancing around (including our golden retriever who loves a happy party!). It was torture waiting for Joyce to call the next morning (I carried my cell phone everywhere with me). When she did, she said she wanted to offer a contract. We chatted about potential publishers, the order of the books, and our cold winter (she’s in PA, I’m in MN). I was able to control the squealing until after we hung up.

What’s extra fun is that my family is as excited about this as I am! I’ve heard my hubby telling a number of people on the phone, online, etc. SO fun to share this with them, and my dear friends who’ve ridden this roller coaster with me.

I’m thrilled for you, Stacy, and hope you have even more good news to share in the near future.

I invite your visitors to join in your celebration by leaving you a comment.

Thanks, Keli. It’s been a fun ride so far, with more ups and downs to come, I’m sure. My parting comment is to every aspiring author out there. It’s true what they say – Never, never, never give up. Hard work pays off!

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Agent Call Story, American Christian Fiction Writers, Faith, Hope and Love, Romance Writers of America, writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Celebrating with Novelist Stacy Monson

  1. Lisa Jordan says:

    Congratulations, Stacy! Praying Joyce finds a home for your novels soon!! And you’re so right about hard work paying off!

    • Stacy says:

      Thanks, Lisa. The MBT (My Book Therapy) and the Voices have been such a huge help and inspiration to me on this journey.

  2. Congratulations Stacy, that is the happy dance we all wish to do, in the supermarket, in the living room or out in the middle of the avenue. Love your story and I wish you the very best. I am sure you will be doing another dance about a publisher. 🙂

    Yes Keli, for the second time in 24 hrs. I ask myself where was I when you got your call and why I didn’t know until you posted on Rachelle. Good for you

    It is the inspiration you bring to us with your story and your wonderful guests that keeps the rest of us going. 🙂

    • Stacy says:

      Happy dancing is the best exercise – even in the grocery aisle!! And isn’t Keli the best? Even in the middle of her own great news, she takes time to celebrate others.

  3. Leigh Duncan says:

    Congratulations, Stacy. I hope you’ll let us know right here on Romance Writers on the Journey when your book sells!

  4. Stacy, I would have loved to see you Happy Dancing in the cookie aisle. Admittedly, I did my own little happy dance for you when I heard your good news. You’ve got great stories and I just know some smart publisher’s going to snatch them up.

    Blessings!

    • Stacy says:

      Thanks for driving me to Indy so I could meet Joyce, Brenda! AND for all the help on learning how to write a proposal in one “easy” step. 🙂 It’s so fun to share this journey with you.

  5. Sue McKlveen says:

    MAJOR CONGRATULATIONS, STACY!!! I wish you ALL the best of luck in your career!!! 🙂

  6. Liz Selvig says:

    Hey Stacy!
    You KNOW how thrilled I am for you. I wish you a long, prosperous career with Joyce and an even longer one with your future readers. Congratulations!

  7. We love you Stacy!!
    So cool to watch your excitement and joy with the future possibilities.

    You are a Queen 😉

  8. Congratulations and blessings to you, Stacy. May your many achievements blossom into a rewarding career in writing. Blessings to you…

  9. Anne says:

    Stacy, Stacy, Stacy, how can I even begin to describe how happy I am for you?!? This is fantastic news and I’m so proud of you! I can totally picture you in the cookie aisle and wish I could have been there to create a bigger spectacle! 🙂 Keep up the awesome work, friend!

    • Stacy says:

      Annie, Annie, Annie. I think I’m glad you weren’t with me in the cookie aisle! Although it would have been fun to see us on the evening news, being hauled away by the men in the white coats…

  10. Alison says:

    Wooohooo! I’ve only been on Facebook one day, and this pops up! I can’t miss an opportunity to celebrate with you again. I’m so excited and happy for you. I can’t wait for the next big piece of news – the SALE.

  11. Mary says:

    Congratulations, Stacy. It’s so nice to start the day off reading someone’s great news.
    Looking forward to more good news to come! Fingers crossed for you.

    • Stacy says:

      Thanks, Mary! It’s great fun getting share the news, too! I appreciate you keeping your fingers crossed. 🙂

  12. Amy Hahn says:

    Whoop! Whoop!! Your awesome stories are sure to find a home, soon!! Cyber hugs and squeezes!

    • Stacy says:

      And lots of cyber thanks to you, my friend! Hope it’s not too long before YOU have great news to share. 🙂

  13. Hi Stacy, So nice to get meet you through a mutual friend here, and I’m thrilled to celebrate your news with you! A huge congratulations!!!

    • Stacy says:

      Thanks, Sarah! It’s so fun to share my news and get so many fun responses. I am really thrilled by this whole thing! (I’ll be certifiable if I get to the point where the book actually sells!!)

  14. Jill W says:

    Congratulations, Stacy! What an exciting journey!

  15. Suzie J says:

    Stacy! I am so, SO happy for you. Congratulations, my friend. I can’t wait to see both of these outstanding books in the bookstores. I’m celebrating your wonderful news by having a box of Good & Plenty. Oh, and some chocolate, too. What’s your favorite kind? 🙂

    Keli, congratulations to you, too, on your sale. I can’t wait to read your book. I met you in San Francisco.

    • Stacy says:

      I’m happy to share those Good ‘n Plenty’s with you, Suzie. Otherwise I’m an M&M kind of gal. 🙂

      Isn’t Keli’s news exciting???!!!

  16. Narelle Atkins says:

    Congrats Stacy!! It’s so exciting to share in your journey and I look forward to hearing more good news from you very soon 🙂

Comments are closed.