Celebrating with Susan Hollaway: Sale of Her First Short Story!

Susan Hollaway writes inspirational romance, devotionals, and whatever else God lays on her heart. She’s been busy working on her romance novel writing along with writing short storiesand selling her first one. (Yay, Susie!)

Susan met her personal hero on a blind date, and they married eight months later. Her romantic hubby remembers their anniversaries, both the day they met and the day they wed. They live in Kansas with their teenage daughter and their daughter’s two dogs, a rat terrier named Buddy and a Pembroke Welsh Corgi named Katy.

When not writing, Susan is busy being the keeper of her home, homeschooling her daughter, and helping with their 4-H club and her daughter’s many activities. Susan’s hobbies and interests include reading, spending time with her family, visiting with friends, reading, crocheting when cold weather comes around, and reading.

* * *

We’re often encouraged to break into print by writing magazine articles or short stories, which can be easier to sell than a novel-length story. Susan, whom I interviewed in September 2009, has done just that. Her first romantic fiction short story sold to Woman’s World magazine. It’s scheduled to appear in the April 21, 2011 issue.

Susan will be able to use this sale in the author bio of her query letters when she’s ready to send her novel out on submission. Not only that, but she gives friends like me an “I know this writer” opportunity when her story appears in the magazine and I proudly show it to the cashier at my local super market when I buy that issue. 🙂

Following is Susan’s account of the sale of her first short story, which appeared on her blog Susan Hollaway: Journeys of Love . . . Inspired by Faith, and is used with permission.

* * *

So, I’m pretty excited!

by Susan Hollaway

Yesterday, I went to our post office box and picked up the mail. There was nothing particularly unusual about that, as I do that all the time. It was what was in the mail yesterday that was unusual and amazing.

When I saw the plain white envelope, addressed to me in my own handwriting and the postmark of Seattle, Washingtonwell, I got excited, nervous and just plain scared—all at the same time. I knew it was one of two things. It was either a rejection or an acceptance letter from Woman’s World magazine.

I said to my daughter, “I’m not sure I can open it.”

She said, “If you won’t, I will.”

And since I’m the mom and all grown-up, I replied, “No!  It’s mine.  I’m going to open it.”

I slipped my finger under the envelope flap andwho am I kidding?—I RIPPED it open.  I was excited and scared. Hands shaking, I opened the three pages and began to read the first line. What? I read it again. Gasp! I can hardly believe it. They accepted my first romantic fiction short. My hands began to shake so badly that I could hardly read the type. Talk about a couple of squealing girls. If our dog, Buddy, who was in the car with us, wasn’t already mostly deaf, he would have soon been with all our noise.

My daughter was grinning up a storm as I kept repeating “Thank you, Jesus! Thank you, Jesus!” She was so thrilled for me. “Mom, I’m so happy for you.” Awww. I called my hubby and said his name three times before I could get out that I’d received the contract.  Sigh. It was a great day.

Susan signing her first contract with Woman's World magazine

* * *

Congratulations, Susie! May this be the first of many contracts.

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in first sale story, Magazine articles and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Celebrating with Susan Hollaway: Sale of Her First Short Story!

  1. Terri Tffany says:

    So happy for you Susan! That is a huge accomplishment!!!

  2. Yahoooo! Atta girl. So proud! 😀

  3. Diane says:

    Wonderful and exciting place to get Jesus out there. Congrats!!! :O)

  4. Jill W says:

    Way to go Susan! May this be the first of many publications. 🙂

  5. I love Woman’s World Magazine. That is tremendous news and I’m sure it’s only the beginning. 🙂

  6. Susie says:

    Thanks, everyone, for your support, encouragement and kind words. You’ve warmed my heart. And thanks, Keli, for lifting up aspiring writers and new authors with your special gifts. You are an incredible woman! I am very blessed.

  7. Christina says:

    I can’t wait until I have my very own signed copy! Congratulations, Susie!!

  8. Delia Latham says:

    I’m so, SO dproud of you, Susie! Can’t wait to see your name in print!

  9. Susan Mason says:

    Congratulations, Susan! I’ve been submitting to Woman’s World for a while now. This month I came pretty close. I got a note that they liked my writing but the story was too similar to ones they’ve already bought.

    Back to the drawing board!

    Enjoy your big moment. Hope to join you one day soon!

    Cheers,
    Sue

  10. Susie says:

    Thanks, everyone. Your encouragement is awesome!

    Sue,
    That similar story thing happened recently to someone else I know. It’s impossible to know what’s already been submitted and accepted, especially if it hasn’t been printed yet. It’s bound to happen to everyone at some point — in the magazine industry especially, I think. Congratulations — they like your writing! Be encouraged ! I say, Write On!

Comments are closed.