Meet Novelist Patti Jo Moore

Patti Jo Moore enjoys writing historical and contemporary romance, and is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers. She is blessed to count some of her favorite authors among her friends and continues to learn so much from reading their amazing books.

A Georgia native and life-long resident of the peach state, Patti Jo lives with her husband and a houseful of cats in a small town south of Atlanta. Before having three children and a son-in-law (who calls her “CatMom”), Patti Jo received a Masters in Early Childhood Education from the State University of West Georgia. After teaching first grade and kindergarten for twenty-one years, she had to retire early due to severe back problems.

When she’s not writing, Patti Jo loves spending time with her family—especially playing board games together. She also enjoys needlepoint, playing her piano, reading, and of course…cats. Even though she’s no longer physically able to teach kindergarten, she thoroughly enjoys visiting her friends’ classes and reading to their little students. Visitors to her home can always be certain Patti Jo will have a pot of coffee on and scented candles burning. (She claims coffee and candles help her write, too!)

Since Patti Jo is a retired Kindergarten teacher, I chose to use my Writer’s Quiz interview format. Rest assured, there are no grades involved. Patti Jo is already a winner in my book. 🙂

Multiple Choice Questions

(Please explain your answers.)

1) When did the dream of being a writer grab hold of you?

a.     I’ve wanted to write since I first learned to form sentences.
b.     I took a creative writing course in college and was hooked.
c.     I’m a late bloomer, and didn’t feel the pull until recently.
d.     None of the above.

A. I’ve always loved books and writing, and as a young child I’d write my own versions of the old Nancy Drew stories. Over the years I was so busy raising my family and teaching school, but at the back of my mind I held on to my dream of being a writer someday.

2) How many stories have you completed?

a.     I’ve finished my first story but can’t stop editing it.
b.     I finished my first story and moved right on to the next one.
c.     So many that I’ve lost count.
d.     None of the above.

B. I’ve actually completed four manuscripts, but I’ll admit they all need some more “editing and polishing.”

3) What kind of stories do you write?

a.     Contemporary romance
b.     Historical romance
c.     Some of both
d.     None of the above

C. Some of both! My very favorite genre to read is Historical romance, but I do enjoy writing both contemporary and historical.

Fill in the Blank

1) My favorite time to write is: late at night, when my house is quiet.

2) My best sources of inspiration are: reading my Bible and reading books by my favorite authors.

3) The staunchest members of the Patti Jo Fan Club are: my children (especially daughter Becca), my sisters, and my close girlfriends. They all think it’s wonderful that I enjoy writing!

Essay Questions

(Maximum of three paragraphs per question.)

1) What aspects of writing do you find most enjoyable?

I absolutely love having a story idea and the characters in my head. Then when I begin writing some of my characters “surprise” me and take off on their own! It is truly an adventure to see your story heading in an unexpected direction. Also, being able to create a fictional town and people with various personalities is FUN!

2) How have the challenges you’ve faced affected your writing?

Last year I had to completely put my writing “on hold” for several months. Due to worsening back problems, I had four spinal surgeries within eight days. That ordeal was the most difficult time I’ve ever experienced, but so many blessings have come about from that experience.

As I was recuperating from my surgeries, an editor requested my full manuscript from a proposal I’d submitted six months earlier. When I read her request, I sobbed. Still in much pain, I didn’t feel “ready” to resume writing, but her request “forced” me to, in a way.

Looking back, I see the Lord used her request to help me turn my focus onto my writing rather than my back pain. I was also adjusting to an empty nest at the same time, so writing was a true blessing for me.

3) Do you have any writing companions of the furry variety?

Oh yes! I have seven cats who I call my “toddlers in fur” because I often feel I have very young children again. Although I didn’t intend to have so many felines (my husband is actually embarrassed for anyone to know how many I have), I just couldn’t turn away the lovely stray Calico who gave birth at my front door or the sweet orange tabby who appeared in my yard and never left. Since I’m at home most of the time, my cats really are good company for me, as they each have their own distinct “purr”-sonality.

True or False

(Please explain your answers.)

1) The thought of plotting a story before starting it gives me hives.

False—but it used to! I am a former “seat-of-the-pants” writer, but in time realized I write much better when I at least have a general outline and some good plot ideas in writing.

2) My characters talk to me all the time.

Partially true—maybe not ALL the time, but a good bit of the time.

3) I can’t write without an infusion of caffeine.

TRUE!!!  I’ll admit, I am a “coffee-holic” and drink it all day, even up until bedtime.

Story Problems: Just for Fun

(X is an unknown number. You get extra credit for tackling these. :-))

1) You’re time traveling to the year X to spend a day with a real historical figure. Where will you end up, and whom will you be seeing?

I would travel way back to the Old Testament days! I’d visit Persia and meet Queen Esther. I would ask her questions about saving her people (was she afraid?), and feel certain she would be a gracious hostess.

2) Your hubby invites you out to dinner and gives you a choice of your favorite X restaurants. Which are they, and which one wins out?

Since I prefer more casual restaurants, the choices would be: My favorite barbecue and Mexican restaurants, and also Truett’s Grill (Chick-fil-a founder Truett Cathy’s restaurant—he lives not too far from me, and often visits the Grill). And I’d probably choose Truett’s!

3) A limo pulls up in front of your house with Gerard Butler, Hugh Jackman, Johnny Depp, and Colin Firth inside. You have the pleasure of their company (and their lovely accents) for X hours and must choose where you’ll spend them. The driver asks you to choose a favorite destination within your state. Where will you direct him?

Definitely to the Georgia coast! We’d visit my favorite islands (Jekyll and St. Simon’s) and Johnny Depp would of course talk like Capt. Jack!

Patti Jo’s Question for You

Do you have any pets? Do you like pets to be mentioned in stories you read?

Patti Jo’s Drawing

Patti Jo has generously offered to give away a $15 Starbucks gift card! (Even if you don’t enjoy coffee, Starbucks has other goodies, too.)

To enter the drawing, just leave a comment for Patti Jo by May 16th and enter your email address when prompted during the comment process.

On May 17th, I will hold the drawing and post the winner’s name here as well as in a comment and will contact her/him via email to get a mailing address.

Congratulations to Sandra Orchard, winner of the Starbucks card.

Note: Offer void where prohibited.
Odds of winning vary due to the number of entrants.
Prizes will be mailed to U.S. or Canadian addresses only.

Learn More About Patti Jo

Visit her personal blog ~ CatMom’s Corner

Friend her on Facebook ~ Patti Jo Moore

About Keli Gwyn

I'm an award-winning author of inspirational historical romance smitten with the Victorian Era. I'm currently writing for Harlequin's Love Inspired Historical line of wholesome, faith-filled romances. My debut novel, A Bride Opens Shop in El Dorado, California, was released July 1, 2012. I'm represented by Rachelle Gardner of Book & Such Literary. I live in a Gold Rush-era town at the foot of the majestic Sierras. My favorite places to visit are my fictional worlds, other Gold Country towns and historical museums. When I'm not writing I enjoy taking walks, working out at Curves™ and reading.
This entry was posted in Patti Jo Moore and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Meet Novelist Patti Jo Moore

  1. territiffany says:

    Hi Patti Jo, It was fun meeting you! I don’t have any pets any longer, boo hoo–Son in law is allergic to cats so I would if possible! And I LOVE reading about pets in stories– I have a cat in my last one!

    • Thank you, Territiffany! It’s an honor to be here—Keli has made me feel very special. 🙂 I’m so sorry you can’t have pets any longer, but am happy you featured a cat in your story! 🙂

  2. I so enjoyed the interview with my special friend, Patti Jo Moore! Thank you very much, Keli, for posting it.

    Blessings to you both!

    MaryAnn

    • Hello Dr. MaryAnn!! SO happy you stopped by! I enjoy your articles so very much, and appreciate your faithfulness in posting them each week. You (and your messages) are a BLESSING! 🙂

  3. Rita Garcia says:

    Great interview, a sparkle in my day! I love meeting pets in the novels I read. My current WIP has three dogs, and a cat will be added to the mix in the second novel.
    Have a blessed week!

  4. Keli Gwyn says:

    Welcome, Patti Jo. I’m delighted to have you as my guest.

    Like you, I’m a cat person. We have two long-haired orange and white brothers. I love them, but I do get tired of running the lint roller over my clothes. For some reason, if they see me wearing black, they feel compelled to rub against me. 🙂

    • Thank you Keli!! You’ve made me feel so special. 🙂 I had to chuckle at your comment about the cats rubbing against you when you wear black–that’s so typical! Since two of my kitties are long-haired, I have to keep that lint roller handy. 😉 ~ And I did want to tell you again how excited I am that YOU have a book coming out before too long—cannot wait! 🙂

  5. Jill W says:

    Oh Patti, bless your heart… four surgeries in eight days. I had two surgeries in four years and that was bad enough. Thanks for a great interview. I look forward to reading your first novel one day! I don’t have any pets at the moment. I do enjoy the mention of pets in books I read, especially if they’re not your ordinary type of pet. Take care of that back!

    • Thank you Jill! You seem like such a sweet person. 🙂 And I so appreciate the kind comments and the warm welcome. ~ I hope you’re doing well since your surgeries. Blessings on your week!

  6. Debby Giusti says:

    Keli, love your blog and Patti Jo! She’s a doll! Your Q&A format was so cute and fresh, Keli.

    Hi Patti Jo! So fun to see you blogging today.

    Hugs to both of you!

    • Hi Debby!! SO glad you stopped by! And if I may do a “quick commercial” here… 😉 Author Debby Giusti has another wonderful suspense book out this month, THE OFFICER’S SECRET. I cannot wait to begin reading my copy (I bought all the copies my Walmart had—not being greedy, but will give the extras to my sisters!). ~ Sending a hug, sweet friend. 🙂

  7. Love the questions, Keli. And great interview Patti Jo. I’m so looking forward to seeing your stories in print one day soon. Patti and I are accountability partners helping each other to persevere in our writing. And she’s the most encouraging person I know! Sending a big hug from Canada … where it’s finally spring. 🙂

    • Hello Sandra! So happy you stopped by. 🙂 You have been such a blessing to me, and I’m so excited about your book coming out in September! 🙂 And I must add that I’m so glad Spring has finally arrived for you in Canada—sounds like you had enough snow this year! 😉 Sending a hug ~

  8. Patti Jo, So nice to meet a fellow coffee addict! 🙂 And Keli’s comment about Starbucks having more than coffee? Oh boy, do they ever. I just sampled a mini lemon bar last week. Divine!

    As for your pet question, I’ve got a pet fish but no pets of the furry variety. I do like to put animals in my books…I just have to get good input from someone else to make sure I don’t have a dog meowing. 🙂

    • Hi Sarah! Lemon bars at Starbucks sound wonderful – YUM! I’ll have to look for those the next time I visit our local Starbucks. 😉 Thanks for stopping by, and thanks for giving me a laugh with your comment about the dog meowing! 🙂 Blessings on your week ~

  9. I cannot drink coffee all day because my tummy would bite me for it, but I love my first cup in the morning, and think I might perish without it. I also have a cat. He is purrfect for me. 🙂 Thank you for sharing information about yourself and your writing. Blessings to you, Patti Jo…

  10. Hello Carol Ann! Oh my, I wish I did just have one cup of coffee in the morning *sigh* – – I’d probably be better off. 😉 Happy to hear you’re a cat-person too. 🙂 Thank you so much for visiting, and have a wonderful week!

  11. Terry Matthews says:

    Here’s a great idea for a novel. Two innocent girls go away to college and room together in a dorm. They choose their dorm because it’s next door to McDonald’s. They have many adventures during their college career and encounter many characters; some will be remembered for decades to come. These girls grow and mature, marry and have families, and continue staying in touch. They remain special friends their entire lives. And they lived happily ever after. The End

    • Terry!! My precious Roomie from college days – – I am SO happy you stopped by! 🙂 LOVE the story idea, and as I think back on our college experiences (and the “characters”) we could probably get a lot of good stories! 😉 That is, IF we could stop laughing long enough to put the stories on paper! ~ Love you, Roomie – – and thank you for being a FOREVER friend!

  12. Patti Jo, it’s great to meet you! I too think if I was spending X amount of hours with Johnny Depp, he must speak like Capt. Jack and dress like him, but with cleaner teeth. Great interview!

    • Thanks Jessica, and nice to meet you too! ~ Have to laugh at your comment about Capt. Jack’s teeth – – completely agree!! 😉 Thank you for stopping by, and I hope you’re having a wonderful week. 🙂

  13. Keli Gwyn says:

    Thanks to everyone who stopped by and to those who left a comment for Patti Jo.

    I’ve held the drawing for the Starbucks card, which Patti Jo so generously offered as a prize, and the winner is Sandra Orchard.

    Congratulations, Sandra! I’ll be in touch.

  14. It was such a pleasure being a guest on Keli’s blog! 🙂 Thank you so much for hosting me here. ~ And also thank you to all the wonderful folks who left comments—you are appreciated. ~ Sandra, congratulations on being the winner of the drawing!! 🙂 You’ll receive your Starbucks gift card very soon. ~ Blessings to each of you, as you follow the path the Lord would have you travel. ~ Patti Jo 🙂
    Colossians 3:23

Comments are closed.